Travel By Car To Twain Harte

10/15/12 Monday at Grants Pass,OR (Henderson’s Line Up shop)  John and Trish at Twain Harte,CA

Different morning, where we get to pack up the RV as if we are taking it down the road and pack up the car to take ourselves down the road in it! After saying good by to Larry, Martha and Mark, we gave our rig’s keys to Henderson’s and took off, getting on the freeway by 8:30 am.

I love I-5! Our trip through the Siskiyous was gorgeous and the road, smooth. Nice fall colors. Some of the time it reminded us of the Texas Hill country – lots of dried grass. They’ve not had much rain in these parts, so it’s rather parched. Going through Sacramento was a breeze. They have 3 lanes on the left designated for through (to LA) traffic, so there’s little merging. Not that much congestion. People go fast, but that’s the speed limit – 70mph.

Mount Shasta (on the way)

I-5 at Stockton was not so nice. Lots of patching, rough riding. Okay in a car, but it won’t be fun in our RV. We turned off I-5 at Hwy 4 to go east to Twain Harte. Not bad roads there either. We arrived at 4:50 pm. I was proud of John’s estimation of the time, because we were aiming for 5 pm.

Mark and Roni Cowell’s beautiful second home in Twain Harte

Roni fixed a marvelous meal of enchiladas, black beans and salad. We ate too much. We also had a great time sharing Cowell (my Mom was a Cowell with 3 other siblings) family tales. Off to showers & bed. Heaven.

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travel By Car To Twain Harte

  1. janedwellable says:

    Hi Trish,
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blogs about Twain Harte to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Jane

Leave a Reply

