Moving on – to Nicolaus,CA

10/26/12 Friday at Nicolaus,CA (Lake Minden Campground-TT)

**Note from yesterday: Eric (Henderson’s tech), while driving our RV, mentioned that it was a shame that most people buy an RV based on it’s interior layout and don’t pay attention to how it drives. Excellent point. John had a clue, since he knew the Discovery rig he’d driven before we found this one was easier to drive. Still, we didn’t question why our RV drove like it did.**

Slept in until 8 am, leaving the RV Park by 10 am. I can tell the climate is warmer as we go. Last night wasn’t as cold as the night before. This morning, we were actually comfortable in the sun.

Off I-5, we saw lots of farmland, including orchards. The signs (olive oil tasting) indicate olive trees.

I saw an egret in a stream! I saw another, flying over a field. I think of these as Florida birds, so that really makes me feel like we’re headed for warmth.

Some people had told us to avoid Hwy 99 – that it was a rough road. We took it between Yuba City and Nicolaus and it was nice – smooth, 4 lanes, wide shoulders. There were a number of traffic signal near Yuba City and a few along the way, but that was the only bad element.

Another thing we realized that’s different on the road now is that we can talk to one another. Before, we had to almost scream. I would create a megaphone over my mouth to get John to hear me. So, we really didn’t talk nearly as much as we have on this trip. We arrived at Lake Minden before 2 pm. Unfortunately, it took until after 4 pm to finally get settled in. We’d settled in A30, then I was completing our paperwork and found out that, even though Section A has sewer connections, you’re not allowed to use your RV washer/dryer. Plus, you could only dump on their rotation schedule (their system couldn’t handle much liquid, clearly). We’d given up TV for this sewer connection. Plus Section A is terribly crowded. I was amazed how John was ready to pack everything back up (departure mode) and move, then set everything up (arrival mode) again. So NOW we’re in Section D, with better power (low voltage problems in Section A), water and TV reception! Bonus: as we were getting the TV set to local channels, John happened upon a movie “The Social Network”. I yelled, “tape it!” I’ve wanted to see that movie since it came out. Hope it taped the majority of it.

While we checked out the campground, we got hold of a pickleball, so maybe we’ll get some practice in tomorrow. We saw some neat birds here on the lake – moorhens, great egret (or white blue heron?). I’ll try for photos tomorrow.

Quiet night of TV.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

