Boothill Graveyard, Tombstone and Fairbank

1/5/13 Tuesday at St. David’s, AZ (St. David RV-Western Horizons)

IMG_6493

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6491 The best parts of Boothill Graveyard (just west of Tombestone) were the view and the epitaphs:

 

 

 

 

IMG_6467

 

View

 

 

 

 

IMG_6469Lester Moore

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6472George Johnson

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6483OK Corral dead: Billy Clanton, Tom McLaury, Frank McLaury

 

 

 

 

IMG_6490John Slaughter

On to the city of Tombstone, so named by Schieffelin, who found a huge silver lode near that place. When he first went out to search for gold he was told, “You won’t find anything but your tombstone there.”

 

 

IMG_6573Shieffelin Hall – the largest building in the town and the only one to survive the 2 times the town burnt down.

 

 

 

 

IMG_6495Courthouse

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6580Home of John Slaughter

There was a “Helldorado” theme park there, but we weren’t all that impressed. Lots of buildings with placards in front explaining their history, but that are currently businesses trying to earn your dollar. I thoroughly enjoyed watching the stagecoach and horses go by.

 

IMG_6525Stagecoach

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6575Tombstone Epitaph (town newspaper, still printing). Named thus because “every tombstone needs an epitaph.”

 

 

 

 

IMG_6577Original Printing Press (from 1880). When they set the letters, they had to be placed upside down and backwards and that’s when the setter proof read the article. Deaf people usually had this job because they could concentrate without any distractions.

We paid ($6/person) for the “Historama”which was a short movie/figures on a stage. This also entitled us to see the OK Corral exhibits and receive reprints of the gunfight reports by The Tombstone Epitaph. If you paid $10/person you would also get to see the reenactment of the gunfight – which took about 32 seconds.

IMG_6566Gunfight models, based on Wyatt Earp’s map. Click photo to enlarge. There had been a long standing feud between the law men and the cow-boys. On this day Police Chief Virgil Earp deputized his brothers Wyatt and Morgan and Doc Holliday to help him disarm the cowboys who were waiting to confront Doc when he returned to his rented room at Fly’s Photography. When the shooting started, unarmed cowboy Ike Clanton ran into Fly’s and kept on running. In the next 30 seconds nearly 30 shots were fired. The three cowboys who stood their ground were all killed. Tom McLaury, who may have been unarmed, was cut down by a blast from Doc’s shotgun. Frank McLaury stumbled onto Fremont Street and was shot in the head. Morgan Earp shot 19-year-old Billy Clanton. Both Virgil and Morgan Earp were badly wounded, while Doc Holliday suffered a superficial hip wound. Only Wyatt Earp walked away unscathed.

IMG_6555Wyatt Earp’s map of what happened. He didn’t include Ike Clanton, because he considered him a coward.

 

 

 

 

IMG_6570From the city map at the time.

From Tombstone, we went to Fry’s for groceries, then to the ghost town of Fairbank, named for the Chicago grain broker who helped finance the railroad which was what put this town on the map. Everyone came through here to get to Tombstone and other nearby towns.

 

IMG_6589Remodeled schoolhouse

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6586House

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_65832 holer outhouse (couldn’t get both “holes” in image)

 

 

 

 

IMG_6588Water Hydrant (how they got water – better than a water pump)

 

 

 

 

IMG_6592Close up of Post Office (we think that’s what the words are from)

At one point, something was hurting my foot when I stepped, so I sat down to get my sock out. I discovered a stem with 2, ½” thorns at 90 degree angles attached to the bottom of my tennis shoe. One thorn was lying at the bottom, as the stem was, while the other stuck through to the inside, to pierce my foot. Thank heavens I got that out when I did!

Home again, after our adventurous day in the wild early times of civilization in Arizona.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Arizona and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boothill Graveyard, Tombstone and Fairbank

  1. Judy says:

    Are you going to White Sands? It’s amazing. Downtown Las Cruces has an amazing used book store. And Mesilla, the little town adjacent to Las Cruces, has some great Mexican food in a colorful downtown. (I’ve visited several times; some friends had the world’s most lovely house, south of the Rio Grande, looking down on Cruces and out at the Organ Mountains.) Have a great time.

Leave a Reply

