American Appreciation Day in Mexico

2/8/13 Friday at Deming,NM (El Rancho Lobo-PPA)

Yesterday we met Dick who said he was going to Old Mexico tomorrow, would we like to come? We said we’d think about it. John was planning to go golfing then, when the weather would be good. By this morning we decided that this was an opportunity we should take advantage of. We were not planning on going to Mexico. John said sometimes opportunity knocks softly. Since this was a chance to go with a group, as we had been advised to do, it was just too good to pass on.

First, though, we needed to get John’s medications at the Post Office in Deming, which is about 10 miles from our campground. When we asked at the window, the gentleman said there was nothing for us. Whoa. We insisted there had been plenty of time. He directed us to the customer service door. The lady there repeated that if he didn’t find anything, it wasn’t there. I asked her to look again – another set of eyes and all. She did and came back with a small card from UPS. They won’t deliver to a “General Delivery”. Hmm. Group Health has always sent via USPS. So we had only today, Friday, between 4 & 6 pm to pick it up at the UPS place.

We came back to the campground, letting Dick & Debbie know we’d decided to go with them to Mexico, but we needed to be back by 4 pm or so. No problem. Bill, who has lived here for some time, came as well, all of us in Dick’s truck.

IMG_6620It’s 45 miles away from our campground, just 3 miles beyond the city of Columbus, NM, with a parking lot for your vehicle (free). Then you just walk across the border, no questions asked. Immediately, we were offered slips of paper advertising dental services. Ah, marketing. Then we could see “The Pink Store” that was giving this day of appreciation.

 

IMG_6606At the door, we are greeted by an older Mimbres Indian, holding the door and wanting tips. We gave her $.25 for each of us. Then we walked through the store to the patio outside. Lots of tables and people greeted us as well as entertainment by “Cher”. Next was a Ricky Martinez imitator.

 

 

IMG_6610My favorite was the Zumba performers

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6617Finally, musicians serenaded each table as we ate.

 

 

 

 

IMG_6616Everyone got the same lunch (free), as well as appetizers like nachos

 

 

 

 

IMG_6612Plus free margaritas – with free refills (and/or Mexican beer).  They offer this appreciation day around Valentine’s Day.

After our meal, Debbie and I perused the store. I wanted a certain T shirt I saw someone wearing (Inca design), but they were sold out. 😦 We all had an excellent time. They sure can throw a fun party.

 

IMG_6622On our way out, they directed us to the other side, because there was only room for cars where we were. Eventually we found the place for pedestrians, showing the Border Patrol our Passports.

Then on to Dick’s truck, following Bill’s shortcut back to our campground. Bill pointed out the Big Floridians and Little Floridians on our way.

IMG_6624The gang: Left to Right: Bill, Debbie, Dick, John. What a great time we all had!! See Sharon (John’s sister), we went to Mexico with a group and NOT in a car.

 

 

 

IMG_6628The sunset that night, from our rig, got gorgeous as the end came.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in New Mexico and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

