Moving on – to Lakehills, TX

2/21/13 Thursday at Lakehills, TX (Medina Lake Campground-TT)

Texas tidbit: The most common bird we’ve seen in the Southwest is the morning dove, starting at John Wayne RV Ranch in Maricopa, AZ. We’re seeing more grackles (like crows) as we go East in Texas. Also there are a lot of border patrol inspection points along our way, not just at the border itself. I’d overheard the ranger at Seminole State Park say that jobs are hard to find, unless it’s with the Border Patrol or Air Force.

This morning there were some wind gusts – heavy winds predicted for areas west of us, so we’re hoping our trip goes okay. Once on our way John found he has to concentrate on driving more, because of those gusts. He says it is still easier driving than before we had the suspension work done.

Over half the way there we stopped at our FIRST Texas Rest area! The others were picnic areas not rest areas, no facilities. They’d split Hwy 90 (in Medina Country) so the rest area was between Eastbound and Westbound traffic. Large, with vending machines, restrooms and advertisements inside plus, of course, picnic areas outside. When we got back to the RV John spotted a loose “fender”. Since he couldn’t really repair it then, he duct taped it.

Shortly after the rest area we had to go onto the shoulder because a sheriff was directing traffic there. They seem to have an investigation team working in the road. This area seems richer – nice, new road, large irrigated grass areas, many with cattle, instead of desert.

We turned off Hwy 90 to the “Texas Hill Country Trail”. Wow, was that ever true – lots of turns and hills. Then that designated road left us as we continued on Hwy 471, but as we turned onto Farm Road 2813 we REALLY were on hills. My Streets and Trips said to turn off onto a “Spur Road”, but we missed it, so I could see how we could still get back. The beauty of this is that we then came upon a large Thousand Trail signs that directed us to the campground. Later we found out the other way would have put us on really rutted, bad roads. Good driving John, so glad you missed that turn!

As we were unhooking the towed car, I did something different. I stayed in it after getting the “Brake Buddy” out. I asked if I should stay in or get out to help him. A couple minutes later, after he’d lifted the tow bars away from the car, he said “In or out, your choice.” I’d forgotten my previous question, so I figured he was done (tow bar up) and thought he meant in (forward) or out (backward), so I put it into reverse and…..crunch! A cable was still attached so my reverse movement pulled it tight, almost getting John’s finger in the process. He was pretty upset. After a lively discussion, I’ve decided to just stay out of the car once I’ve got the Brake Buddy out. The cable eyelet is bent and he’s trying to figure out how to get it back to shape, so he can get it off the car.

Once settled in our site, John saw that they were serving ice cream – for $1! – for only 9 more minutes. We scooted right over to the Activity Center and enjoyed not only the ice cream but the fun company of other campers. Back at our site we went over to Karen and Sherrie’s spot (I took care of their cat in August), visiting with them until supper time. They showed us how Medina Lake is now basically a dry hole.

IMG_7165John and Karen at the TT dock while Sherrie and I are at the bottom of the lake taking their photo.

 

 

 

 

 

Slow No Wake IMG_7168

Karen feels especially bad for the people who’ve built expensive houses overlooking this “no water” lake.

 

For entertainment we watched our Wednesday night tape of the Gonzaga game against Santa Clara. Boy were our guys in good form then! They won by 43 points. Plus they are now ranked 3rd in the nation. Really hard to believe. Fun night!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Texas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

