Rain!

3/10/13 Sunday at Columbus, TX (Colorado River Campground-TT)

It poured rain last night. This is the first good rain we’ve experienced in some time. Lots of puddles and happy people this morning. One camper thought we only got 1/2”, but it sure sounded like a lot to me.  It did wake us up several times last night, but it felt good.

We started our day with Mass at St. Anthony’s in Columbus. This was a medium sized church yet only about ¼ full. The really different thing here was that after we’d finished singing the last song, everyone knelt down for a few moments of prayer, then they slowly left. The cantor led the songs as well as the responses. Then we stopped at the H E B (only a few blocks away) for more food.

Since it was cloudy, threatening more rain, we just settled into exploring our travel options, then had a simple lunch. At that point I got my music back on my iPod. No easy task when I discovered right off the bat that the Apple “genius” had formatted it to a Macintosh computer. Sheesh! Then the iTunes screen wouldn’t let me click on anything…until I realized I needed first to say “No Thanks/Yes” to basically an ad.

We’d gotten into the mood, so the rest of the day we did more travel planning.

At 4:00 pm John suggested we hit the hot tub. MMM. Nice and relaxing. When we walked back to our rig, the sun was shining!!

Supper was leftover Fajita chicken (STILL wonderfully moist and flavorful), with chips and salsa.

For the rest of the evening we both worked on our lap tops – more travel investigations and some blog homework.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Texas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

