Canadian Family

3/16/13 Saturday at Columbus, TX (Colorado River Campground-TT)

We actually got up a bit after 7 am. Looks like we’re adjusting to the new daylight savings time enough to get up at a decent hour. Heavy dew this morning, along with fog that burned off in an hour. This is definitely time to clean the bugs off the front of Miss Zanzibar and the oil and dust off her back. Thus, right after breakfast, we tackled that long avoided task. I think we made it too complicated, but I did have fun talking with our neighbors who’d lost their awning from their tent trailer in yesterday’s wind. Dear John got to finish the job on our rigs’ tiger end.

I worked on our macaroni salad for the potluck tonight as John went to the manager’s meeting. I got there soon after it started-the attendees consisted of John, myself and a gentleman from Victoria, BC, Canada. We kind of took over the meeting with our unique frustrations with Thousand Trails and our membership contracts, so Marty the manager got an earful. The best part is that Marty gave me the names of a couple salespeople who may be able to help John and I. The next best thing is that we got talking with Scott. He and his family have been traveling from Victoria East across Canada to the Maritimes, then down the US coast to Florida, then West to here in Texas. Wow. We’ve just traveled from the same basic area, but from the opposite direction. We all got excited about what we could share with the others, so we split to do lunch with promises to together soon.

Once we were done with lunch, we finished making that macaroni salad, then John returned the Wilson Internet booster he’d borrowed from Bill while I washed dishes. Wouldn’t you know, I got a phone call letting me know that the potluck was called off for lack of interest. Glad we like macaroni salad!

John was still talking with Bill, so I joined them (plus another couple from Texas). The Texan couple work at a children’s home for troubled girls. It’s fascinating what we learned about these kids.

Before we knew it, we saw Scott headed for our coach. I yelled that we were here and still really wanted to talk with him about their travels. Scot said his family was gathering their stuff and would be at the pool in a few minutes. We said our goodbys to Bill and friends, then got sunglasses, hats and water, then actually met Scot’s family on our way to the pool.

Non stop talking for hours, is all I can say. Janet (Scott’s wife) was scribbling as fast as she could during the first hours, then I during the last hours. They have a blog too, so we’ll be able to continue comments and suggestions as we travel. They (and their 5 beautifully behaved children) are on this trip for 8 months. They need to return to their farm (near Buchart Gardens, believe it or not) by April 17th, so they have to scoot to get home by then.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Texas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

