Moving on – to Beaumont, TX

3/28/13 Thursday at Beaumont, TX (Elks RV Park-$15/night)

Warm, muggy day, just as they said it would be. We got on our way by 9 am, after “safe trip” hails from our neighbors and tips to try the Boudines (sp?), Crawdads and shrimp in Lafayette, LA. I’m glad we’re here at the end of March because we can enjoy the wonderful Texas wildflowers on the side of the road, even I-10. Many more are on Hwy 71, though.

Going through Houston on I-10 does take nerves of steel. {Others say that the loop roads around big cities are just as crowded as the Interstate going straight through} We’re really glad we’d ventured through there in our car first. BIG thanks to Sharon (John’s sister) for her tip to keep in the lane to the left of the right/slow lane. We found that it worked even better to keep in the 3rd lane from the left when there were more than 3 lanes. There are places (Hwy 610, Hwy 45) where big chunks of the freeway drop off and you need to be in the correct lane. Changing lanes in heavy traffic, going 60 mpg, in a big rig is right up there in challenges. It’s next to those drivers who slip right in front of you, thinking you can slow/stop on a dime and the others who, when you turn on your turn signal, start closing the gap to get in front before you can get over. Sheesh, a white truck just cut right in front of us and he had absolutely no need to do that – plenty of room ahead in his lane as well as ours! Once you pass the Budweyser building things calm down pretty much. At this point, I’d say Seattle and Portland are worse than anything we’ve hit before.

We were a little worried that there would be space for us at the Elks – we’d forgotten to call yesterday to be sure they had room. When we arrived, we saw that it was okay. Apparently there is a State Fair in Beaumont from March 21st -31st and the carnival workers set down stakes here (their RV’s). Someone just left this morning, so we were really fortunate to get their spot – a good one.

After setting up camp, then lunch, we went to the H E B in Beaumont.

You could say the pluses and minuses are opposite those of Colorado River Campground:

IMG_7675

Sounds; in CR it was birdsong and quiet, Elks it’s constant banging and pounding building of palettes, the next door business, plus a train and a highway!

Campsite; in CR it was grassy, but full of gopher dirt piles, ants and nettles, not to forget the “goat’s heads” (stickery balls), Elks has grass and a concrete pad at our door.

Campground; in CR HUGE, with trails, trees, wild hogs, a river, meadows, forests, pecan groves…., while the Elks is more of a parking lot (with grass).

WiFi: in CR, it was a struggle even with the Wilson cell phone booster, although if you went to the lodge it was good. Elks has free WiFi, from our coach! It’s only got 1 bar of strength yet it works well.

Elks have some sewered sights, but they’re taken by the “pipeliners” and fair workers. Still, it’s a good deal at $15/night as opposed to $37/night at the nearby Gulf Coast RV Resort.

IMG_7678

Our site.  We enjoyed drinks at their bar after supper.  They are SO friendly here and gave us great tips for our time in Galveston (an island).

 

 

 

IMG_7673

Fiberglass Elk under live oak tree

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Texas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving on – to Beaumont, TX

  1. Judy says:

    The trip through Houston sounds terrifying.
    I lived in/on Galveston for six months 20 years ago. (I was on sabbatical, and had a fellowship to the University of Texas Medical Branch.) It was fascinating. Be sure to get whatever of its history you can: everything from the Pirate Jean Lafitte to the terrible storm of 1900. Six thousand died, if memory serves. Black men were ordered to gunpoint to collect the bodies and take them out to sea (the corpses were decomposing). The sea deposited them right back on the beach.
    I lived on 14th Street next to a big white church — Sacred Heart, maybe? Walked to my office. It’s a truly distinctive place, especially the historic district. I hope you enjoy it.

    • tjelser says:

      Houston wasn’t so bad.. you just really had to be alert! Thanks for your tips on Galveston. We got some others from the Elks we visited tonight.

Leave a Reply

