Stuff Around our RV and Day for Relaxing, Catching Up

6/15/12  Friday  Newport, WA  (Whaler’s Rest Campground-TT)

Trish’s Flag Whirigig

Trish next to “ginormous” rhododendron

Rhododendron close up.

Area behind our RV.

Trail from our rig to clubhouse.

NOTE:  I never managed to publish this post on 6/15/12, so I finally realized it was sitting in “drafts” for that reason.  So, you can think of it as a change of pace, a “golden oldie”

I mentioned my flag whirligig in yesterday’s post, but it’s pretty hard to see in the photo of our rig (on the right side), so I’m putting a close up picture of it here, since I’m so proud of it.

Something else I think is lovely is the rhododendron plant near our rig.  I’m sharing photos of it from a distance and up close.  They really grow gigantic here on the West coast.

While I’m on the topic of stuff near our RV, I’ll show a picture of the area behind it too.

There is also the lovely trail through the woods from our rig to the clubhouse, where I access the Internet.

Our neighbor, with a tent trailer, has a cool kayak on his car.  I asked about it and I got a really big explanation for it’s special properties:  Hobie brand, you sit in a chair that’s like a lawn chair while you place your feet on pedals (as you would with a recumbant bike), then when you pedal, you can move your boat up to 10 miles per hour, because of the fins attached below the pedals.  It also has a rudder at the back and a wheel you can use for moving it on land (like you do your wheeled suitcase).  See more at http://www.hobiecat.com/kayaking.

So, what did we do today besides enjoy our immediate surroundings?  Not much.  We bought a 12 volt multiplug that will give the GPS power.  The wire extension part that would go from our current 12 volt multiplug just went dead, so John figured it would work best to just get another 12 volt multiplug and attach it close to the GPS.  Yeah, velcro works great.

We took showers and dried our towels in our dryer.  So fluffy and yummy warm after 30 minutes.  We did laundry too.  Every 2-3 days works well. Now that I’ve figured stuff out, it’s just great.  One quarter drum of clothes takes 30 minutes of drying, one half drum takes 70 minutes.  Perfectly dry and not full of wrinkles, just like at home.

Hobie Kayak

Peddle mechanism for Hobie Kayak

John cooked his potato soup for lunch.  In the afternoon he worked on a mystery project for a grandchild while I read an actual book in a grassy meadow with lawn daisies and loads of sunshine.  Grilled steak and onions for supper, than a group campfire (us and the ranger) to finish off our lovely quiet day.

Tomorrow and Sunday we are going to Corvallis to visit our son, daughter-in-law and 2 adorable grandchildren, so we may not mange to post anything in the next couple days.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

