Storm Brings Tears In Topper Awnings and Refrigerator Dies

4/24/13 Wednesday at Hohenwald, TN ( Natchez Trace Wilderness Campground-TT)

The thunderstorm was supposed to start around midnight, but blessedly, waited until 8 am. I was still in bed when it hit with some strong wind gusts and John had just finished emptying our gray tank. So I got up, getting ready for the day. John opened the fridge for breakfast food and I noticed the light wasn’t on. Then I saw that there were no lights on our fridge indicator. He shut the door. We had bars for breakfast and researched what could have happened in the manual. Everything that needed to work was working, although when John checked the connections at the outside refrigerator panel, he noticed that the Norcold recall box had a red light on.

I drove in the rain to the “Town Hall” looking for an RV repair person’s business card I’d seen there. It wasn’t where I’d seen it, but in looking for a pen behind the buffet counter, I spotted it! I called him and explained our problem. He came out within the hour.

Meanwhile, back at the RV, I asked John to squeegee off the water on the slide tops. He discovered that not only had we lost the little air mattress circles, but the slide awnings were torn (2 on the driver’s side). Always something.

When the RV repair person arrived he fixed the fridge immediately, by bypassing the recall device. So we have a working fridge, but we’re not protected from a spontaneous fire starting there.

I called our RV insurance (GMAC) and started a claim for the slide awning repair. I called our TruLine RV in Spokane for advice on the Norcold recall box. We’ll need to have a dealer contact Norcold for the new box and then install it.

I spent the rest of the morning and into the afternoon working on the blog, then I took a nap. John finished one book and started another Louis L’Amor book.

After my nap we went to the lodge to post the blog and catch up on computer stuff.

Even though we have repair issues, this was a lovely day of rest. To top it off, our hamburger supper was the tastiest with the sweetest bicolor corn ever. Oh, I had the rest of my Boudin Link at lunch – so flavorful and not so terribly spicy as the gumbo was.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Tennessee and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

