Rain and Tennessee

4/26/13 Friday at Hohenwald, TN ( Natchez Trace Wilderness Campground-TT)

Believe it or not, I spent this morning writing the blog, then after lunch I uploaded the photos and posted that blog. Finished by 2 pm, we went to Lawrenceburg’s Post Office for mail. John never had an address, but he was sure he could find it. Eventually, I asked a guy on the street and he directed us – we were pretty close. We got some groceries and came back to the campground and the lodge for more computer work, especially email.

At supper time, since it had started raining, John cooked our pork chops on our stove instead of the BBQ grill. They still tasted really delicious.

Now we are getting lightening and thunder. Sure hope the 2 slides we have out (living room) don’t leak. Maybe I can get John to squeegee the water off the tops before dark.

As it kept on raining, I asked John about the squeegee job. He said it’s going to rain so much to squeegee won’t make any difference. So I asked if he would please work to get the slides in. Thus we got the slides in just as the thunder, lightening and rain got worse. He was upset because I sent him out in the lightening with a lightening rod (the squeegee handle) on top of a lightening rod (ladder). I was worrying about him as I heard it getting worse. Whew!! He got inside, the work accomplished, before anything bad happened. My hero!

A few thoughts on Tennessee: Just as there is West Texas and South Texas, there is East Tennessee, Middle Tennessee (where we are) and West Tennessee. Wild white daffodils are growing along the road on the Natchez Trace, where we often see turkeys. The last 15 miles (North) of the Trace are set at a speed limit of 40 mph. Houses here do have front porches, with chairs, but we see people out on them rather infrequently. Lawrenceburg (home town of David Crockett) is where the largest gathering of Old Order Amish live. Today, on our mail trip, we saw 2 helping a farmer with his gate as we came to to town, then they were working on the roof of his large outbuilding as we were coming home. THEN we met a buggy, with 4 Amish in it, just before our turn off to the campground. Of course, I didn’t have my camera handy. There are a lot of farms here, many have cows, some have horses, most have a pond.

Today we found out that George Jones died. Residing here, near Nashville, listening to “The Grand Ole Opry” radio station when in the car, we were treated to lots of George Jones’ music. He lived in Franklin, a suburb of Nashville.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Tennessee and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

