Medical Issue and Moving on – to Cheap Hill, TN

4/29/13 Monday at Cheap Hill, TN ( Lock A-COE)

No sleep for me, up several times to go potty. In the morning, after breakfast, I saw that I had blood in my urine. As John said, “That’s not good.” I’d been suspecting a UTI, so this confirmed it for me. We hoped to be on the road by 9 am today, so now what? Could I hang on until we settled at the COE campground, then see an urgent care near Nashville? The blood got worse, so I thought I could be in real trouble if I let this continue. Then I realized that the doctor in Tupelo was willing to call in the prescription to any store I wanted. Maybe Group Health would do that. So I called the consulting nurse (around 6 am their time) at Group Health to present my dilemma. After several questions, she said she could get a prescription phoned in to the WalMart at Hohenwald. She also insisted that, when we’re back home, I needed to have things checked out-that something else may be going on. I told her it could be some time.

Now I’m desperate to get to WalMart. John, carefully following all posted speed limits (like 5 mph in the campground), drives us to Hohenwald. As we went by the Meriwether Lewis exhibit, he said he should have let me drive to WalMart and he would drive the RV to that exhibit and we’d hook up there. I’m really glad we didn’t; I was not feeling well, I tend to get lost, we could have troubles connecting (very poor cell phone service there, on the Trace), just what I needed, more stress. We got to WalMart just before 9 am, where I immediately went to the bathroom, then to the Pharmacy. John went shopping. Pharmacy took a while opening, then the lady said they didn’t have any prescription for me. Where was I from? I said Spokane, Washington. Then another lady found it – it had just come in! It would be ready in ½ hour. By 9:30 am we had our food in the car and got the antibiotics, then went home.

We actually got our rig on the Trace by 11 am sharp! Our trip up the Trace was peaceful and lovely, as usual. Luckily, I could scramble back to the bathroom when I needed to. We also found a spot to pull over so John could get the same break. Once off the Trace (all this is “against GPS”) we started on Hwy 100. Then John turned onto McCory Rd. Sheesh, that’s not what I had planned! Of course, we know Sam (GPS) is struggling to get us on a main freeway (this is all close to Nashville). I’m not good with spontaneous navigating, so I’m struggling. Eventually, we get to Hwy 251 (Old Hickory Blvd), which I did have planned, so I calm down. Soon Hwy 251 becomes River Road Pike, a Scenic Route. Hmm. It was a two lane road, curvy, with trees up to the edge and no shoulder, similar to the Trace, as John commented. Although this was more chaotic trees, little grass and not quite as lovely. After many miles we spot a sign that warned of a clearance 11′. Now we are scared. John thought it said in 27 miles and we should be turning off in 18 miles. Later, he realized that the sign had said 11′ horizontal clearance. Ah, we’re only just over 8′ wide. Then we go across 2 bridges that are being refurbished, so only 1 lane through at a time. That may have been where we needed to not be so wide. One bridge also had a sign – no vehicles over 12 tons. Oops, we’re at about 15 tons.

Next, the directions we got from the COE was to turn at Cheap Hill. Our map had NO Cheap Hill Street, so what if  our map/GPS had us turning down some narrow, dirt path? Thankfully, we saw the sign for Cheap Hill, Incorporated( a city, not a street!) right at the corner our GPS said we should turn. Whew!! We had a certain spot reserved, but the trees blocked our satellite reception. John wants to get into an unreserved spot to try for the TV. No manager here to talk to until Tuesday. After driving up to Cheap Hill, looking for some sign, we returned. We hooked up the Wilson antenna, got the Internet and tried to see if any of these were reserved any of the 3 days we’ll be here. Frustration. I just wanted to stay where we are. John finally agreed and we got our local TV antenna to work. Time for lunch (peanut butter sandwich) and my nap.

John asked about supper. I have little appetite, so leftover taco soup sounds like a plan. Once we’ve finished the supper jobs, I continue drinking lots of water and getting rid of it. Went to bed before John. Another prayer for sleep

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Tennessee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Medical Issue and Moving on – to Cheap Hill, TN

  1. Judy says:

    What a miserable day. I hope you’re much better, very soon. Let us know.

    • Janice Andre says:

      Wow! Sorry to hear this Trish. UTI’s are awful. Hope you Are better!

      • tjelser says:

        Thank you Janice. Within 2 hours of taking the first pill, no more blood in my urine! It took a day for things to flow like they should, but that’s much better than if I’d waited for medication.

Leave a Reply

