Moving on – to Clinton, IN and Country Camping Center

5/3/13 Friday at Clinton, IN (Horseshoe Lakes Campground-TT)

Slept better last night: earplugs didn’t work, probably due to operator error, got up several times for the bathroom. Thank heavens, I feel better, though still need sleep.

Surprisingly, because we ate a regular breakfast with eggs, we were on our way by 8:45 am. True, we didn’t have to get the slides in and hadn’t hooked up our sewer hose. Just before leaving we called Adam, owner of Country Camping (in Chrisman, IL), for the best way to drive to his shop. We’ve been talking with him since last Friday, so he would have lead time in ordering parts for putting new material on our slide “topper” awnings. We’ll be stopping at his place before we go to the TT campground. We’re close to the Illinois border most of our trip North to Clinton.

The road out of Evansville was a pain – similar to Louisiana – so I was concerned we’d have that most of our trip (Hwy 41 which becomes Hwy 150). Thankfully, after about 10 miles, it changed to a lovely, smooth highway. Thank you Indiana! The country here is so green (yes, I know, it’s Spring). On our way to Country Camping, we saw Clydesdales/Percherons (Budweiser horses).

Thanks to Adam’s directions, we had a smooth ride to his RV shop. He was right out to our rig to greet us, then got photos for our insurance company and did a test on our recall box (it failed, thus we still need another one). The unfortunate news is that Carefree (awning maker) is behind on orders and won’t be able to ship until Monday. Since it’s coming from Colorado, it will take at least 3 days. So we will probably be staying at Horseshoe Lakes longer than we’d planned.

It was lunch time, so I hinted to the guys (John and Adam), as they traded stories, that we could get on the road now. Again, thanks to Adam’s directions, we had a fine ride to our campground.

It took some time to find a spot we liked, but we hit the jackpot. It looked like there was no way we’d get any satellite TV, due to all the trees. In the end, we have water, 50 amp power, sewer, satellite TV and a great view!  Because there is a lot of rain predicted for tonight and the weekend, we’ve left our slides in.

This place has more lakes than we could count. Finally we could enjoy lunch, then I took my nap. I think John watched TV. When I got up (we’re now in the Eastern time zone), we had our taco soup at 6 so we could join the wine/cheese party at the adult lodge at 7 pm.

We had a great time sharing travel stories with the wine and snacks. Our plans for tomorrow are based on suggestions one lady gave us.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Illinois, Indiana and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

