Errand Day and Thunderstorm

5/20/13 Monday at Elwood, IL (Cathy and Win’s Farm)

Right after breakfast I made follow up calls for mail we’d received, as in “why did we get this?” Once again we are headed into a very hot, humid day with predictions of severe thunderstorms so we decided to do our shopping before the storms came: Costco and Aldi’s. At Costco, we mainly wanted to get John’s hearing aids repaired and to check out their TVs since ours has an electronic problem where it just goes to a black screen when it’s been hot for a while. Unfortunately, the hearing aid area was closed on Mondays. Boo hoo. On to Aldi’s: Aunt Phyllis had told us about Aldi’s, so we were curious. They’ve included ingenious methods for saving costs, that they pass on to the consumer. Right off the bat, you need to put a quarter in the mechanism attached to the grocery cart, to free it from the row of carts. It will hold your quarter until you return your cart to it’s row. Inside, the cashier gets to sit, you pay with cash or debit card and bag your own groceries into your own bags. There were very few employees. Their selections are limited, kind of like Costco, the store is the size of a smaller grocery store and the prices are really low, like $.99 for 2 pints of strawberries. Sort of like a small Win Co.

At home we had leftovers for lunch, then we simply talked until supper time. Hey, we’re kind of old with lots of experiences to share! John had made his marvelous cranberry pork crockpot recipe, sauteed onions, mashed potatoes and gravy. The best meal ever. Thank you John!

For the rest of the night – we talked. At bedtime, we checked out the weather predictions, since all day it had been very hot and humid, windy, but no thunderstorms. We saw that some were predicted to come North and West of us, but the radar looked like we’d miss the storms.

Not so lucky. Around 10:30 pm, the storm hit with heavy rains, lightening, thunder and gusty wind. We’d left our slides out as well as our awnings. It was exciting, but hard to get to sleep. We did find out that the 3 buildings surrounding us seem to cut the force of most of that wind. Thank you, so much. The awnings seemed to direct the rain away from our slides. It settled down around 1 am. In the morning, we had no water in our bedroom bucket, some wetness at the driver’s slide spot and nothing came through at the passenger’s slide. Whew!!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Illinois and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

