Waubonsee Trail and Sugar Creek Administrative Building

5/21/13 Tuesday at Elwood, IL (Cathy and Win’s Farm)

We managed to get some good sleep, despite the heavy wind and rain late into the night. Best of all, the leak damage was minimal, so we were quite grateful.

First order of business, Costco, since John had broken on of his hearing aids in an attempt to show me the part that he needed to replace. They were open this time, replaced that part on the other hearing aid and then said that the other needed to be sent to the factory. This would take about 10 days. We explained that we didn’t have 10 days here. After some deliberation, Cathy volunteered to pick up the repaired hearing aid at Costco (she, fortunately, is a member), then mail it to our next campground in Michigan. That sure was a fabulous help – big thanks to Cathy! While at Costco, we also bought an LG brand TV, to replace our living room one in the RV. We’ll keep it’s box to return it if that becomes necessary. A nice project for John in his spare time.

There were grocery items we couldn’t find at Aldi’s, so we combed Jewel Osco for them and found some. Still needed cod liver oil and fructose for Trish. Some people are SO particular. A lady at Osco told us about a natural food store, so there we found both, but the cod liver oil was twice the cost of my usual, so I figured we could keep looking, but that Cathy could cross it off her list of challenges for now.

On our way to that store, we were getting pretty hungry so we stopped at El Burrito Loco for the best food. John and Cathy had burritos, I had a grilled shrimp salad with avocado slices. Such flavors!

IMG_9306 IMG_9309

Since the day was still hot, humid and sunny (where are those predicted thunderstorms?), we took a walk on the Waubonsee Trail, near the Will County Forest Preserve District Headquarters. There you can see they took great pains to properly position the Sugar Creek Administrative Center for sun, wind, water and contours of the land.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9311 John and Cathy

John and Cathy

Now we were ready for a rest, so back at home, we got to talking, naturally, until supper. Left over Chicken ala King, which we all scarfed up.

Near bedtime it started raining with predictions of light rain throughout the night. While extremely grateful for our good fortune regarding tornadoes lately, we are truly concerned for those suffering in Oklahoma.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Illinois and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

