Oakwood Cemetery, Birdhaven Greenhouse and New TV

5/26/13 Sunday at Elwood, IL (Cathy and Win’s Farm)

After our yummy pancake breakfast we headed out to Oakwood Cemetery for their Civil War Memorial Day Service. I didn’t realize that this holiday was begun via a General Order of the Grand Army of the Republic (during the Civil War) on 5/30/1868. “…designated for the purpose of strewing with flowers or otherwise decorating the graves of comrades who died in defense of their country during the late rebellion…”

IMG_9393 IMG_9394 IMG_9396

Speaker begins by showing us how they loaded their muskets, then shot it to alert the column to start their procession.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9403 IMG_9408

Colonel Bartleson was the first man to volunteer in Joliet, an attorney who soon received command of the 100th Illinois. A lovely poem was read, a gun salute and taps played at his grave.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9411 IMG_9413

Major Bowen was a local businessman who volunteered in response to Lincoln’s request in 1862. He was wounded in the leg at the Battle of Missionary Ridge, but did not leave the field, insisting on having his would bound, a stray horse caught, then riding until the ridge was secured. After recuperating from his wound he got a severe eye infection. Later he was promoted to Major, leading the 100th Illinois after Colonel Bartleson died.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9419 IMG_9418

As they read the names of 148 men who died (from Joliet) from May 1862 to May 1863, two men placed flags at gravestones.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9430 IMG_9431 John Trish at Birdhaven Greenhouse

When this lovely ceremony ended, Cathy drove us to Birdhaven Greenhouse. It reminded me of our Manito Gardens and greenhouse in Spokane, though smaller. This one has a lovely waterfall, though!

Home for a fun lunch of pizzas made with Matzos (unleavened bread). Easy and delicious.

Time to take out our old TV. Okay, it’s only 1 year old, but a part gets hot and the picture goes black, which is not fun. Today our goal was to remove the old TV and screw in the new one. No screws came with the TV. John couldn’t find the right size and thread in his assortment of screws so we took off for Ace. John thought he remembered how to get there, but we got lost.

P1080875

Cool photo of farm as we were lost… had to do something to feel okay.

The GPS (giving it the city) seemed to be confused, so we called Cathy. She said to check the POI for Post Office in the GPS. That worked and it directed us to the PO, which was just across the street from Ace. We got wonderful help there and soon were headed back home.

We struggled to match the new TV’s screws with the newly drilled holes, but thanks to John’s skill at seeing “blind”, we got it done! I even held the TV while he searched to match screws to holes. Once he got them screwed in tight, he got the local channels and Dish channels to work. Yey!!!

Supper was meatloaf and potatoes, great for a rainy day. Time to relax next.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Illinois and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

