Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore

5/30/13 Thursday at Buchanan, MI (Bear Cave Resort-TT/Mid Atlantic)

No storms last night, thankfully, even though predicted, so we slept pretty well, but still got up late this morning. Realizing that we couldn’t get to the Dunes and back before lunch, John got involved watching Andy Griffith Shows while I caught up with computer reading (emails, blogs).

IMG_9438

On our way (via US 12 West) to the Dunes we saw what we think is a nuclear plant in Michigan City (which is in Indiana).

IMG_9435 Mt Baldy sign IMG_9448 IMG_9440 IMG_9442

Soon after Michigan City we saw a sign for Mount Baldy. This is the highest Dune, once a launching pad for hang gliders. Now, because people climbing on it destabilized it, destroying the dune grasses that hold it, no one is allowed to climb up it. The first image is what you see from the parking lot, the second is what you see from Lake Michigan. Speaking of the Lake, we could see that the waves come diagonally, instead of straight on, like the ocean. Because of this direction of the waves and wind, sand is deposited from right to left along the shore. Thus the area near Mount Baldy is starved for sand, while much is left at Michigan City harbor, which stops the natural movement of the sand along the shore. These are called the “Singing Sands”, because of the friction of superfine wet sand, but we didn’t hear that hum.

IMG_9459 IMG_9456 IMG_9458 IMG_9457

It was amazing how you couldn’t see anything but horizon on that huge lake. There were storms coming in, adding to the drama. These views are not from Mount Baldy, but from Lakeshore Drive (alongside the city Beverly Shores).

IMG_9460 IMG_9462

The last is our path back to the road. A cute plant on our way up the path.

The Visitor Center lies about in the center of the length of the Dunes, getting there by traveling on S 49, from US 12. We got lots of good information for our next trek here. It was getting a bit late and starting to rain, so we decided to get home (about an hour away).

The storms held off until John was trying to grill our chicken, naturally. Once we were finished with supper, the storm abated. We spent our evening watching more taped TV shows. Nice and easy day.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Indiana, National Parks (NPS) and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

