Lazy Day, Waiting For Rain

5/31/13 Friday at Buchanan, MI (Bear Cave Resort-TT/Mid Atlantic)

We had a couple storms last night, so our sleep was intermittent. Thus, between that and the time change, we slept in, again. This morning I thought of getting my 10 lb weights out. Boy am I ever out of shape. Time to make a point of some morning exercise, along with quiet time.

Since big wind gusts and thunderstorms are predicted for today, we decided to stay close to home. Therefore, John watched more Andy Griffith Shows and CSI shows while I worked on the blog and organized my photos on the computer. All day long. We did manage to get our awnings and slides pulled in preparing for the strong wind gusts and heavy storms. The wind was gusting, picking up, so it seemed a good idea to get our slides in now. Naturally, it didn’t go that smoothly. After setting the bedroom awning in, I started moving the bedroom slide in, remembering that I needed to pull the “water catcher” bucket out when we finished. BUT after it came a bit, I noticed something funny and John yelled “stop”. He wanted me to send it back out, so I did. It stopped suddenly – too soon I thought. I went to look and saw it had a foot or so to go, then realized that I’d left the “water catcher”. Yikes! It was stopping the bedroom slide, not allowing it to go out any further. I moved the slide a bit in, then tried to pull the “water catcher” out. Got it. Whew! That was close. Once I finished sending the slide all the way out, I went to John, to see what was wrong, if he needed my help. He did. The awning on one side had not been locked, so it was stuck while the other side was going out with the slide. He got it unlocked, then we put the awning back in place. This time sending the slide in (“water catcher” out this time), went smoothly. Close call. Each of us played a part in possibly creating a problem in that slide. On our toes now, we got the other slide (& it’s awnings) in just fine.

It was supposed to pour rain, with heavy wind gusts all day. It didn’t happen. Hmm. Supposed to get heavy rains over night, then all day tomorrow, so we’ll keep those slides in for safety.

With all our slides in, we continued as before: John watching old TV shows (I think he’s testing the new TV to see if it will go black if it works too long) and I organizing photos on the hard drive.

To continue our lazy theme, supper was leftover pork roast with gravy and beans. Watched taped TV shows for our evening. Wonder if we’ll get that bad weather overnight?

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Michigan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

