Buchanan Art Museum, Buchanan Art Center

6/3/13 Monday at Buchanan, MI (Bear Cave Resort-TT/Mid Atlantic)

IMG_9463 IMG_9465

View from Miss Zanzibar

 

 

 

 

Miss Zanzibar with slides out enjoying open space

Saliva test results: Both tested healthy. Yay!

I cleaned house while John applied silicone on suspicious areas and sprayed for bugs. Near lunch time I called our bank to see if they might know why our deposit (money from selling mom’s furniture) had not shown up. We were sure it was lost in the mail somehow. Well, they had a note that they returned the check because the amount written in cursive was different than the amount printed in numbers. Of course, they sent it and a letter to our permanent address. Sigh. If we’re lucky it may come in our next batch of mail, now on its way from Spokane. This was way better news than lost in the mail!

I worked on the blog, then it was lunch time. We were going to Fernwood today, but John wondered if they were open Mondays. Sure enough, they’re closed that day. So we’ll go tomorrow, when they have it open for FREE. We also have a coupon to visit for free, so we may go again. John had potato soup he’d made yesterday, so I make myself a “Sassy Chicken Salad” to enjoy. Yum.

By the time we got our dishes done and act together, we left about 2 pm for the Dunes. On our way John mentioned that since it would take over an hour to get there, then another getting back, we wouldn’t have much time to enjoy ourselves before we needed to come back and make the meatloaf supper we’d planned. SO, we decided to just try a trail we’d heard about in Buchanan.

IMG_9483

Post Office in 1940’s Revival Bldg) Of course, once in Buchanan, we had to check if we had anything at the Post Office. Voila! 2 packages, one from our son and daughter-in-law for Mother’s Day/Father’s Day, the other from our neighbor. Christmas! Among the items was the check returned from our bank and my Medicare card – effective July 1, even though my birthday is not until July 29th.

On to the Commons

IMG_9466

Pears Mill Built 1853.

 

 

 

 

 

The TrailThe Trail

 

 

 

 

 

Fire House Park at end of Trail

Fire House Park at end of Trail

IMG_9477Fire House Park at end of trail

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(9479

The Commons and stalls for Farmer's Market

The Commons and stalls for Farmer’s Market

 

 

 

 

 

 

Concert area at Commons for Thursday nights

Concert area at Commons for Thursday nights

 

 

 

 

 

 

Buchanan Art Museum – painting in window

Buchanan Art Museum – painting in window

 

 

 

Buchanan Art Center

Buchanan Art Center

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sculpture animals at Buchanan Art Center

Sculpture animals at Buchanan Art Center

IMG_9492 

We walked on to explore downtown. The owner of the Museum collects current art, largely landscapes and beautiful portraits. He also refurbishes very old oil paintings, including a huge mural of Byuck, that came from the “Tavern on the Green” in New York. He insisted we visit the Art Center where I had a great time enjoying their galleries and telling them about my watercolor teacher, Stan Miller. John was patient.

 

When we got back to our RV we got to visiting with our neighbors. They bought their 2002 rig just a couple years ago, so we have some similar experiences, although they’ve been full timing for over 8 years. We talked until supper, then separated for the night. They’ll be visiting the RV museum in Elkhart tomorrow, even though we told them about the free day at Fernwood. They are leaving Thursday, so they don’t have time for both.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Michigan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

