St. Joseph, MI, Curious Kid’s Museum, Silver Beach Pizza

6/10/13 Monday at Buchanan, MI (Bear Cave Resort-TT/Mid Atlantic)

Since it rained most of last night, from midnight on, and we had left the bedroom slide out, neither of us slept much. I kept worrying about the water filling our “water catcher”. As it turned out, our new awnings kept it all out, it seems. This was not a heavy storm, but good to know a light one won’t bring water in. None the less, we need to get that slide in when we expect rain during the night. Anticipating enough to fill the “water catcher” is not conducive to sleep.

So I didn’t get up, as promised, as 7 am to clean house. I did manage to sweep the tile and vacuum the rugs before we left for the Honda oil change appointment in St. Joseph MI. People encouraged us to enjoy this seaside town, so this would be the perfect day.

It was perfect, except for the weather. Lots of fog rolled in while we were at the Honda dealer getting the car’s oil and air filter changed. Since they finished the job by 11 am, we explored the “Curious Kid’s Museum” ($6/adult). Some fun items for us, but best enjoyed with children.

IMG_9682

At 12:30 we headed to the fog shrouded beach, for Silver Beach Pizza. They are in a train depot, where Amtrak actually stops for people. A number of people had raved about their pizza. They were right. Fabulous!!! We bought a Medium ($17), half veggie for me and half meat mania for John. We saved half for supper tonight.

Next, we ambled onto the beach, less our shoes/sandals. Ah, how sweet the feel of warm sand in your feet.

IMG_9686 IMG_9683

We meandered over to a jetty, then walked to its end, where we saw a kayaker and the St. Joseph Lighthouse (featured on a US stamp), lost in the fog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9678 IMG_9679

Back to the pizza place, where we proceeded up the stairs, from which you can see the St. Joseph Carousel (right of it is an earth roof over Discovery Place – part of Curious Kid’s Museum) and Fountain. Continuing up that street we found Ice Cream at Cabana’s. What a fabulous treat! Bear Claw (dark chocolate with nuts and chocolate) for me and Chocolate Peanut Butter for John. Next we drove to the Post Office to mail something to our son, then home. Time to rest up (remember – little sleep last night).

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Michigan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

