Children’s Garden (MSU campus)

6/23/13 Sunday at Stockbridge, MI (Heartland Woods RV Resort-RPI-$10/night) (John and Trish at Judy’s condo in East Lansing)

First thing: Mass at 9 am. One of their different practices was that the choir (3 women, 1 man and a pianist) stood up front, to our right of the altar. They have great voices and the director would direct the congregation as he directed the choir because he faced us. Very nice. The other difference was that each pew had a basket hanging at the end, so when it was Offertory, someone who was giving from that row would bring up their offering. I like that – participation.

Next, I helped Judy hang some pictures and get some ideas for others. We had a lunch of veggie burgers while Judy enjoyed couscous with grilled veggies (including a Lemon preserved in salt and their own juices). Earlier she showed me how to make kefir (Arabian?), a fermented milk drink, like buttermilk. You get a “start” that has the probiotic curds, add 2 C milk, let the milk sit at room temperature for a day, then store it in the fridge. After a day or so you have 2 plus C kefir, then you strain out the liquid, keeping back the curds to start the process over.

It was such a fun lunch that we relaxed afterwards with naps (Judy and I) and TV (John).

Children's 4-H Garden

Children’s  Garden

All rested, Judy took us to the Children’s Garden on the MSU campus. It was just delightful:

 

 

 

 

A peacock of petunias

A peacock of petunias

 

 

IMG_0099 IMG_0101 IMG_0111 IMG_0114 IMG_0117 IMG_0123 They had all sorts of cute kinds of gardens: alphabet,

 

 

 

 

cereal bowl,

 

 

 

 

pioneer,

 

 

 

 

 

African American,

 

 

 

 

Hispanic American and .

 

 

 

 

Asian American.

 

 

 

 

Peter Rabbit’s Garden IMG_0125

 

 

 

 

IMG_0126

 

Tree House

 

 

 

 

IMG_0127 Monet’s Water Lily Garden

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0128 IMG_0130The frogs squirt you if you get close enough.

 

 

 

 

Dinosaur pit

We were going to have ice cream at the MSU Dairy store, but everyone else had the same idea (hot Sunday), so we went home and made our own with Breyer’s French Vanilla topped with Dove chocolate shavings. Perfect end to the best of visits. Lots of hugs and off we went.

When we got home to our RV, we fpimd it really hot, so we opened all our windows and ran the fans. Unfortunately, our voltage got so low (from others’ running their air conditioners) that we didn’t have enough for our fridge, much less A/C.   We ran our generator, thus getting the electricity for A/C for ourselves. We also had our dinner while enjoying all this electricity. Then, voila! (it was about 7:30 pm by now), we had enough voltage without the generator that we could run our A/C off the pedestal power. Yay!

We expect a good night’s sleep, running the bedroom A/C all night.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Michigan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

