Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park and Jazz Concert

6/22/13 Saturday at Stockbridge, MI (Heartland Woods RV Resort-RPI-$10/night) (John and Trish at Judy’s condo in East Lansing)

At breakfast, Judy introduced tahini (sesame seed paste) with date syrup, to use as jam on my toast. The best! It’s an Arabic dish.

Since it was predicted to be a pretty hot and humid day, we left for the Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park by 10:30am. Mr. Meijer made his money with grocery stores, similar to the Fred Meyers Stores we have in the Northwest, carrying more than just groceries.

We visited the Sculpture Park 1st:

IMG_0010 IMG_0017 IMG_0016 “The American Horse” (There is another in Milan, Italy) You can see how large this one is. It’s based on the drawings of Leonardo da Vinci. The 2 horses were dedicated in 1999, 500 years after the clay model by Leonardo was destroyed. They have 3 sizes of it here, so I have an image with the largest and smallest. You can touch the smallest – Judy and I had great fun with that.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Two Indeterminate Lines”

“Two Indeterminate Lines”

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Eve” by Rodin

“Eve” by Rodin

 

“Around”

“Around”

 

“Summer Dance”

“Summer Dance”

 

“Light of the Moon”

“Light of the Moon”

 

Our favorite sculpture – unanimous!

Our favorite sculpture – unanimous!

 

At the Waterfalls

At the Waterfalls

IMG_0027 IMG_0029 IMG_0030

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Japanese Tree Lilac (The regular lilac is Spokane City's Flower)

Japanese Tree Lilac (The regular lilac is Spokane City’s Flower)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Marmot

Marmot

 

We enjoyed a lovely lunch at their Cafe: John had a Michigan Turkey Sandwich, I had a Michigan Salad and Judy had a salad with sweet potato cubes.They just happened to have a Rose Show going on at the time, so here are a couple pictures from that:

IMG_0073  Can you believe, framed roses is one of the categories!

Time to head back to Judy’s, then she drove us to downtown East Lansing, to enjoy their free Summer Solstice Jazz Concert. It was fabulous. Sorry, I didn’t tape a video for you all. This time I just went and enjoyed myself. During the break between 2 groups (MSU jazz professors was one), we had Grilled Wraps: Judy’s was Vegetarian, mine was Fiesta (Mexican) and John’s was Ranch. Yum!

It was hot and humid all day. Judy laughed when I asked if I should take my sweatshirt for warmth during the jazz concert (5:30 to 8:30 pm).

We all relaxed when we got back to Judy’s. At 10:30 pm she Skyped with her dear young South Korean friend, Nathan (8 years old). I got to join in. He sure does well with his English, even scoring the best in his class in a recent test. He said no one in his class passed the test. This is 3rd grade! I loved his explanation of his comic book hero, Ricki Ricotti (mouse) and his reading from one of his comic books. This was also his birthday, so he shared his new toys.

What a sweet ending to a big day. It’s also our anniversary – 39 years of marriage. Pretty neat way to celebrate (Meijer Gardens and Jazz Concert).

We’re also very grateful for air conditioning.

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Michigan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

