Moving on – to St Clair, MI and Mosquitoes

6/25/13 Tuesday at St Clair, MI (St Clair-TT)

Leaving the air conditioner on last night didn’t seem to help a lot towards a good night’s sleep. Although it may have been my normal jitters over moving day. We heard thunder around 6 am and turned off the A/C, since it seemed cool enough. Thus is rained from thence forward. Since it’s a pain to get the water and debris off the slides and their toppers, we kept hoping it would taper off soonish. The news said it would be noon. BUT we’ll be driving through Detroit, so we determined we needed to be leaving by 1 pm to miss the 4 pm commuter traffic. So John started working at getting water off one slide in at a time, so we could get them in before lunchtime. As he did, the rain petered to an end, so we continued with our departure process.

Left at 11:33 am. We decided to just eat our bars on the road for lunch. Really wanted to get through Detroit before 3 pm. As we were traveling through Detroit, we saw lots of bridges, very old and marked with their height. I think the lowest were at 13′ 10”. We were there around 1 pm, so feeling pretty good about that. This path that we’re taking (I-94) was recommended by our RV neighbor, Larry. John and I had different routes in mind (John-I-96, Trish-I-69). It’s looking good that we had Larry’s recommendation. By the way, he also noted that, when traveling East on I-94, note the right lane as you go past the Detroit Airport, then stay in that lane for it goes the whole way (as lanes drop off and add) through the city. One neat thing: our gas mileage for the day reached 10 mpg for a good while. We were also grateful that, once again, the skies are cloudy, but not raining. Perfect weather for driving into the sun (East).

Upon our arrival at 2 pm, we went to the sight the ranger said would give us TV (as well as sewer and 50 amps). Well, after a good deal of trying, no TV reception. We tried in another spot, which had better access to the sewer anyway. We got reception! Next we realized the power box was locked, so off to see the ranger. Apparently they charge for 50 amp use here: $3/day. It’s now after 4 pm, we aren’t very level (John didn’t want to move any once we got reception), so we said okay, we’ll take this spot anyway. We took a walk around the campground,managing to provide many meals for very hungry mosquitoes!

By the end of the day, we lost reception. Nice quiet night for reading (computer for John).

We decided to try the hot humid night without the A/C on.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Michigan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

