RV Stories: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

6/29/13 Saturday at St Clair, MI (St Clair-TT)

In the morning we researched places to explore near here. Later we visited a bit with Allan, then with our friends from Monaco RV Service, Bill and Marie who just happened to come in yesterday and settle next to Allan and Pauline!

Next thing you know, it was 1 pm and we were hungry, so we walked back to our home for lunch. I got some more reading in while John played on his laptop until 2 pm, when we walked to the lodge for the ice cream social. This time we got a bowl of cookies and cream ice cream (plus chocolate syrup) for just $2. After a while, Bill and Marie came (we’d told them about the social). We got to visiting with them and another couple who just retired a year ago. That couple camped in a tent trailer for about 20 years, then bought a Class A motor home, just like we did! Pretty soon another couple (parked next to Bill and Marie) joined in the conversation. Then a lady came and politely asked if anyone may know why her generator wouldn’t run. Lots of fun stuff came after that.

RV Stories, the good, the bad and the ugly. (GOOD): When Bill/Marie pulled into a campsite at a COE park, their wheels sank deep into the clay (having a thin layer of pea sized gravel). She saw some “facilities” people bringing truckloads of new tables into the campground, so she asked if she could borrow a small shovel, to fill the hole. They came over, deciding to bring more gravel. They laid more pea gravel there, but when Bill drove back into that spot their tire just pushed through the clay/gravel like a bulldozer. So they added more gravel. Same result. Finally they added rocks about 4” in diameter, with small gravel on top. That did it!! Plus, Bill was now level, even, when he pulled into that same place. (BAD): When a couple pulled their trailer into the gas station, as he was filling up the tank on one side of the trailer, she woke up in the trailer, getting out the other side and going into the convenience store. He left without her. She called the police. When the police caught up with him (lights flashing), he was asked if he’d forgotten anything. (UGLY): Bill/Marie struggled getting their black water to go down the drain, they called a “facilities” person for help. That person set the hose and asked our RV person to open the gate. When they did, the “stuff” came streaming out right into his face. Pressure had built up down there. When they got the drain cleared a bit our “facilities” person pulled out a plastic bag with “stuff” in it. Apparently some older man, after picking up after his dog, would drop his plastic bag of doo doo down the dump station.

After 4 pm we excused ourselves, so we could get to church in St. Clair. As it happened, we had old info and thought Mass on Saturday was at 5:30. We thought we’d check out Palmer Park there with our extra time. Well, we found the church first, only to realize that Mass had started at 4:30. We were about 15 minutes late so I said we should be fine joining in now.

Next, we drove to Palmer Park and Plaza where the city was having an Art Fair for the weekend. Since it ended at 6 pm on Saturday, we just had time to briskly walk past most of the booths. Nice fair. We’ll be spending more time there tomorrow.

Normal evening stuff, including a nice brisk walk around the campground. Boy, that feels good! I’m reading and John’s on the computer for the rest of the night.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Michigan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

