Farmer’s Market, Flea Market and Strut

7/13/13 Saturday at St Clair, MI (St Clair-TT)

We planned last night to go to the Farmer’s Market and a nearby Flea Market today, and so did Bill and Marie, thinking we might meet at one of them. As it turned out, we left before they did (they are night people), getting to the Farmer’s Market in Port Huron, MI by 10:30 am.

 

IMG_0820This market is right on Lake Huron. Such a gorgeous place for it. We found some veggies (beans, zucchini squash and Romaine lettuce) that looked good, for a reasonable price. This market was a bit larger than the Buchanan one, but not a lot, maybe double the vendors. Next we tried to find the store that Marie said sold cell phone covers for $5.  As we struggled, I texted her, asking for clarification on the location. Well, my memory of it was WAY off. It’s south in Detroit. Okay, not worth that kind of a trip. She had just gotten up, so she asked about the Farmer’s Market. I said it was okay, that we were now going to the Flea Market. She replied that they’d come straight there. Then she asked how big was it, how many people. At that point we’d arrived and I let her know it wasn’t such a big deal, not much stuff or people. She replied that they wouldn’t be going there today. The good news is, John found a Louis L’Amour book and I found 6 Tom Clancy books (highly recommended by my Aunt Phyllis). I’ve been looking since she recommended them, but they were always huge hard back books, whereas these are paperbacks, so I had to scoop them up.

Time to head back home, but on the way we stopped at another auto parts store (O’Reilly’s). The man spent a lot of time trying to find a strut for us and finally had one that might work (a bit low on strength: 40 lbs). We can return it if it doesn’t. Plus he ordered another that was a bit high in strength: 99 lbs.

Lunch was leftover chili, then John tried out the new strut. It’s a bit weak, but fits, so he’s happy enough with it. Yay!

We decided we’d “man up” and get into the pool during adult hour. Yes, the water was on the cool side, but, wimps that we’ve become, we finally managed to get all the way in eventually. Not only that, but were we out of shape trying to swim it’s length. Then we tried to remember the last time we’d swam in a pool. They’re in most Thousand Trails campgrounds, but we tend to gravitate to the hot tub. I did do pool exercises in Palm Springs in November, but actual swimming I think was not since Little Diamond (over a year ago). John can’t remember when he last swam laps. Must get back into more exercise.

I’ve noticed how polite the people are here, children as well as adults. Even when it was their turn for the pool. They often say “excuse me” when appropriate and are respectful of adults. Nice. Maybe part of Midwest culture. One little one (3 years old) started a tantrum in the lodge (as I worked on the blog) and boy, did his dad call him on it. He started by saying some phrase I can’t remember, like “sit your bum down”, then as the boy refused, he started counting (I did that – 3 meant spanking if not movement on child’s part). By 3 the boy was on a seat near dad. The boy was told to put his hands on his lap. Then the father had to leave, but 2 relatives continued the “watch” as the boy was in time out.

After our swim, we used our clothes hanging contraption outside (for the 2nd time ever), for towels and swimsuits. It was a lovely afternoon for relaxing (I read, John on the computer).

Supper was Chicken a la King, then we relaxed, then had our walk around the campground. Watched a little TV, then to bed.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Michigan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

