Moving on – to Wellington, OH (South of Lake Erie)

7/16/13 Tuesday at Wellington, OH (Findley State Park-$27/night)

Early this morning I saw a black squirrel. There are a few here. I’ve seen them before. I just wish I had my camera any of those times, but it just hasn’t happened. Anyway, it seemed like a good omen for our travel day – something special like the view I also had of the sun’s rays streaming through the forest onto grass.

We didn’t sleep all that well (travel day plus I was worried about the heat: 93 degrees in Detroit, with high humidity, so it feels like 102). So we got up at 6:20 am. Between getting up early and all our preparations last night, we could have left by 8 am, but we really didn’t want to run into commuter traffic, so we got ready slowly, leaving at 9 am.

Our route was on I-94 E, then I-75, then cut through US 280 to US 20. A lot of I-75 as it goes through Detroit is really rough. Yuck. After Detroit, we got under a big black cloud, which decided to rain on us. Oh well, we’ve been grateful for the cloud cover, so we shouldn’t complain. We also passed a huge Ford manufacturing center as well as a large Meijer distribution center.

The minute we crossed into Ohio, the road improved greatly. Thank you, Ohio! Got fuel near Toledo, because John felt if we needed to run our generator at the campground, he’d like feel secure with the fuel we’d have for it. We noticed that the corn has grown enough to have tassels. We saw a sign for 95 degrees. I’m amazed that the front dash A/C has kept us comfortable enough. We haven’t had to drive in this kind of heat before.

We arrived around 1 pm. Unfortunately, after we’d pulled into a large parking lot and unhooked the car, John couldn’t start the engine. As I was on the phone with Good Sam Emergency Road Service, he managed to get it started. Whew! Next we needed to take on water, because there won’t be any at our campsite (only power-not even TV), but John left the engine running that whole time (15 minutes), afraid it wouldn’t start again. Soon we got to our site, got situated, up on blocks, then shut off the engine to eat lunch.

Refreshed, we proceeded with our remaining “arrival” chores. We opened out the slides (they had the “air pressure” they needed), then John tried to turn on the engine to lower the jacks. No dice. Period.

We completed our other arrival duties, then looked into what may be the problem. John noticed an idiot light that said “alt fail”. I looked up alternator in our manual. It said if too much voltage was demanded of it, we could cause it to fail prematurely. Hmm.. I wonder about all the dash A/C as we’re driving in 95 degree weather. Sad end to a very long day – 194 miles, longer than we’ve driven in some time.

At this point, we both just took naps, then had a lovely leftover supper of Chicken A La King. We are SO grateful for our A/C. Our air conditioners need good power (we even have 50 amps with good voltage) and can only manage to get us 10 degrees lower than the outdoor temp, but that’s WAY better than none!!! I feel for all the tent camping people near us in this park. We only see one class A motor home and one 5th wheel.

Being the wimps that we are, we stayed inside for the night. John’s hoping that after we’ve been hooked to power a while the engine will start, otherwise we’ll need to call for RV service tomorrow.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

