Cheese Heritage Festival

7/20/13 Saturday at Wellington, OH (Findley State Park-$27/night)

Woke to thunder and rain. I feel for all those camping in tents. Good time to post to the blog and wonder of wonders, our hotspot got great Internet service! That’s a first, especially in the woods. So that’s how we spent our morning: I on the Internet and John studying his spreadsheets.

We’ve found a new leak, from the roof of the driver’s side slide. Bummer. Easy to catch the drips with a rag for now.

After lunch we went to the local Cheese Heritage Festival, in Wellington today. We met our Spokane neighbors, Albert and Janet there, at the Town Hall. Great reggae music though we just got there in time for a couple minutes of it. Nice fair food; John got onion rings. Then we walked down Main Street to see all the Historical Houses here, built largely by wealth from cheese. At 3 we all enjoyed their parade, which even included fife and drum players (to give a live enactment of Wellington’s own Archibald Willard’s famous painting, “Spirit of ’76”), horses, and really huge, new, farm tractors. Unfortunately, I didn’t bring my camera – I just didn’t think about the historical houses or the parade. So no photos.

We came back to town after supper, with our Spokane friends, to listen to some acoustic rock and roll and country music. We heard a young lady (Ashley Blackstone) singing as she played her guitar, under the gazebo, so we settled in our chairs there. She was very good, a joy to listen to. Unfortunately, the little town was hopping with majorly distracting sounds: Police alarms, Ambulance horns, Fire trucks clanging, along with several trains passing through with their horns. Apparently a little girl had been hit by a car. Needless to say, our Ashley kept on singing. The worst was when her microphone would abruptly die, several times, with the final insult of dying during her last song. As we walked back to the car, we heard more music, so we had to investigate. It was the actual “Band of Steel” that we thought we were listening to in the first place!! (Yes, we did think it strange that her performing alone was the “Band of Steel”). We still felt she was much more fun to listen to.

We left around 9 pm. When we got to our campsite, we showed off Miss Zanzibar. Janet and Albert are leaving tomorrow for Niagara Falls, so we wished each other safe travels and said our goodbys.

PS:  Last night this place got really full.  Today we found out that a a professor in their community college, Lorain County Community College (LCCC), is giving his gym class students credit for camping this weekend.  Many have never camped before.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

