Farmer’s Market, then Rain All Day: Wedding Wishes Too

7/27/13 Saturday at Jefferson, OH (Kenisee Lake-TT)

Jefferson’ Farmer’s Market is the smallest we’ve seen: 2 booths: one of honey and jam, the other of vegetables. We got there about 9:30 am (started at 9), but all the beans and tomatoes were gone already. Sheesh. So we got a zucchini and a cucumber. I spent the morning working on the blog, as the rain poured down.

Later, as the clouds and rain gathered, we determined it wouldn’t be much fun at the Dock Fest in Conneaut this afternoon, so we just stayed home. Another bummer: we now have both the leaks that had been worked on at Wakarusa, IN, for over 2 days and $1200, to both now leak as badly as before that work. I’m so disheartened. There is also damage going on behind the wall of the driver’s side leak; it’s bumping out the aluminum skin on the outside and destroying the wallboard (and probably the floor) on the inside. This despite my catching all the water I can with chamois cloths and fans. It’s a big problem in that who will buy an RV with signs of leaking damage (if you repair those signs, the next rainfall creates them again)? Thus, if you can’t get it fixed, you are forever struggling with it’s damaging effects.

We did manage to escape the rig to eat ice cream at a pavilion, as the rain poured down. The rest of the day I read and John watched Clint Eastwood shows on the TV. After supper, we started on our walk when some rangers drove by reminding us of the “Dance and Karaoke” event going on right then. We’d forgotten, since our plans for the Duck Fest fell through, all other plans did as well.

So, at the big barn, we listened to the DJ play music and others line danced to a lot of the music. As people got more comfortable a few sang Karaoke and danced. I even got to sing into the microphone (with lots of others). We also danced to a couple songs and didn’t leave until the show wrapped up around 11 pm! We got to walk home in the dark, but the sky was clear and beautiful!

My brother got married today—-Our wishes for years of happiness go out to you! We are so thrilled to have Kristen now officially part of the family!!!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

