Pymatuning Lake Fest

8/4/13 Sunday at Jefferson, OH (Kenisee Lake-TT)

IMG_1292 IMG_1293An early project before church: move the hummingbird feeder and because of that we needed to clean a some sticky stuff off the window. It’s been there for some time, but I thought it was some cottonwood “cotton” in the screen. Recently I figured it must be something sticky (like tree sap), since it was smearing when I moved the window. We both thought of peanut butter and after a lot of elbow grease, we got it cleaned. Now the feeder is much closer to me and such a joy. They are just silhouettes until the last bit of sunlight, when I have a few moments to enjoy their brilliant colors.

Since Mass was at 11 am, we got back home for lunch, then off to see the Cherry Valley Furniture Store (Amish) and then enjoy the Pymatuning Lake Fest. Unfortunately, that Amish store was not open on Sunday, so we may try it again.

IMG_1274 IMG_1279At Pymatuning State Park they had the usual fair booths and activities, but our favorites were the magician “Crazy Dave”, who jumped into Lake Pymatuning, locked into a strait jacket that was chained to a concrete block. He was good and got up and out of that jacket in just a few moments. After his show, we explored the various booths, then found Karen and Sherie sitting at a table to watch the performances. They were even there for the magician. So we joined them to watch the next show:

 

 

 

 

IMG_1278

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1282

The best one of all, the Elvis performer (Jim Felix). He really had Elvis’ voice and did a great job singing his songs.

 

 

 

 

IMG_1287

The Neil Diamond performer (Chris Demen) looked a lot like him and could sing the low notes similar to Neil, but we felt he did much better singing his own music than imitating Neil Diamond. We left just before his last song.

At home, as we got dinner started, Karen stopped by to let us know that they were having a fire and we could join them, if we brought our chairs and beverages.

as we were in the middle of our Taco Soup supper, guess who knocks on our door? Bob and Kathie (met them at Monaco RV Service in Wakarusa, IN)! They’d emailed that they’d be here on the 4th too. So we told them we’d come over as soon as we’d finished, which we did. (We also asked Karen/Sherie if they’d mind another couple at the fire; they said no problem). After a little visiting we let them know that Karen and Sherie were having a get together around their campfire, that they could come if they’d like.

Pretty soon there were: Karen/Sherie, Marie/Bill, Bob/Kathie and John and I gathered. Soon after our introductions, Ove and Linda (friends of Bob/Kathie) came over. Wow, this got to be quite a gathering. The cool thing is, when Kathie invited Ove/Linda to the party, she asked: Did you want to meet a whole crowd of strangers?” It turned out that we recognized Linda from Palm Springs, the FMCA rally near there and she remembered us from our Lewis and Clark FMCA local chapter. Pretty soon she realized that she knew Marie and had probably met Karen/Sherie when she and Ove were at Peace River (TT), where Marie cut hair and Karen worked in the office. We had the best of times sharing RV tales as well as TT and ROD information. I also realized that 3 of the 4 couples have appointments to get their RV serviced. I think that just goes to show this isn’t unusual. By 10 pm I got concerned that we may need to be quiet, for our neighbors, said something to that effect, and then John and I left. What a great day!

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

