ROD and Emergency Road Service

8/7/13 Wednesday at Jefferson, OH (Kenisee Lake-TT)

This was a productive morning: We have officially joined a park that is a member of ROD (Resorts of Distinction). It’s been an interesting learning experience. There are 2 types of ROD parks: regular and Plus. If you buy in a Plus park, you can stay TWO weeks in any park. Regular parks are only one week stays and if your home park is regular you are limited to one week in all the parks. You must be out of the ROD system for a week if your stay was over a week. Only 3 reservations on the books at a time. There are restrictions on any parks within 125 miles of your home park. Your dues are based on whether you want to pay a nightly fee ($10) or if you want to stay for free.

Every park in that system is unique, of course, and that leads to the kind of offers they can give. If it is one park that’s not offering you access to another system (like Coast to Coast), than it can offer a lower yearly park fee. Yes, an annual park fee is due, along with the annual ROD fee ($158/year now). Plus, for the privilege of accessing the other affiliated parks in the ROD system, you pay a “chunk”. That amount really varies, depending on the park, the salesperson, and your negotiating skills. We’ve heard of $699 to $12,000 that have been required. Also the parks are required to talk to you while you are at their park, rather than on the phone. So it’s hard to “shop”, except through word of mouth-hearing what proposals other RV travelers have been shown. According to our calculations, (amortizing out our “chunk” for 5 years), if we stay in ROD parks for a total of about 21 days, we’ve got our money back for that year. We just stayed at Findlay State Park for $192 (7 nights), while friends traveling from St. Clair to Kenisee Lake stopped at a ROD park (“free”). There are many times when we see it advantageous to stay in a ROD park when a TT park is not available.

Note: buying into a membership system is really expensive IF you don’t use the heck out of them – use their parks a LOT.

Next, I called the 2nd mobile RV service. He said he was booked over 2 weeks out and suggested we contact our Emergency Road Service, if we had one. We do, through Good Sam (Affinity Road and Travel Inc), and had called them the first time we couldn’t start the engine. I guess I didn’t think this was applicable because we don’t need to go anywhere yet. So I called and they are helping: Kingsville Towing is coming to our rig today.  Meanwhile John took the batteries to NAPA to verify if they are good. They are. After he reinstalled them, he still couldn’t start the RV’s engine, but he could start the generator.

Kingsville Towing and Repair appeared at noon. In the end, he got the engine to start from the button in the service bay (where the batteries are), but not from the front. We have a “Check Trans” light still on at the dash. He said it could be that a fuse in the Transmission box was blown when John attached the new batteries. If that’s not it, we’ll have to have it towed to the nearest Allison Service center for work. Sigh.

During this time, the rain poured down. Yours truly had forgotten that she’d left the window open on the passenger side, even asking John if that awning was still out. When I glanced over at that window, I saw all this water on the blinds and sofa. Voila! I realized it was coming in the open window, so I had fun getting that wiped up.

The Tow guy left around 1:30 ($127 charge for labor, the rest covered by our Roadside Emergency Service), so we had a small lunch. Neither of us were very hungry.

Next mission: John will try to check out the fuse situation. He tried looking, but wants to see another such box before he tries anything with ours. He looked up the Allison dealers. They are all over 70 miles from here. Yuck.

After supper we took our campground walk around Lake Kenisee. Due to watching out for all the goose droppings, we didn’t get to enjoy the lake as we’d anticipated. Then we stopped at Karen and Sherie’s for a visit.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

