Surprise Dinner

8/11/13 Sunday at Jefferson, OH (Kenisee Lake-TT)

Another beautiful, sunny, warm day. Paradise. After our relaxing morning we went to church. When we had just finished lunch, Linda stopped by to let us know that they were giving away corn and coleslaw from yesterday’s party and selling pulled pork ($8.50/lb). She’d purchased the pork and invited us to a get together at Bill and Susan’s campsite around 2 pm. Another early dinner, but hey, you can’t turn down free.

Soon after her visit we checked in on Bill and Marie. They’d noticed a strong ammonia smell yesterday. This morning they’d called a Norcold technician who basically said that once the tubing holding the refrigerant broke, there was no repairing it. They had to buy a new refrigerator. Apparently, these propane/electric refrigerators are touchy and often “die” within 7-10 years. Bill and Marie’s is 9 years old and ours is 10. They are VERY expensive. Now, there are residential refrigerators that fit into RVs, even are the same size as your old fridge. These are also far less expensive, about 1/3 the cost. Wow, a new fridge would be nice, but determining if you want a residential style is a bit hard, because then your dry camping and storage options are more limited. The technician told Bill and Marie that they could get an inverter and plug it into the inverter (which draws power from your batteries, then sends it out as 120 volt a/c electricity), but drawing 11 amps is a heck of a lot through an inefficient inverter. They are building the new motorhomes with residential fridges. While we were talking, John and I realized we could help them out with our large electric cooler, so John brought it over.

Since Linda had mentioned that we could come over early, to play “Pegs and Jokers”, we went to her rig. We gathered at Bill/Susan’s place, even though they won’t be back until 3 pm! They have a lovely area, under a shade tree and fenced (for their little dogs). So the game got underway. Linda and John (we played partners) won! I should note that John won the game of “13” that we played with Karen/Sherie and Bill/Marie, so he’s on quite the good streak.

Dear Bill/Susan arrived as our game was in progress and settled in as hosts. Such good sports!!! Once the game was over we started working on dinner. No one (by now there were 12 of us gathered), had ever roasted their corn on the cob on the grill, like they’d been at our dinner yesterday, so there was some consternation. Someone suggested it should be soaked first. That sounded good, so Susan piled them into a plastic bag, in her kitchen sink. John & I brought over our little BBQ grill, so we got ours and Bill/Susan’s fired up. Susan placed them on the grills, then looked on-line for how long this should take. 20 minutes. We figured we needed to turn them over periodically, so Bill and I did that and Susan got their grill up to medium heat like ours. Once the husks started turning black, we figured they were done. They were!!! Everything else was set out on a table, with a garbage can below.

What a great time we all had chowing down and then visiting until almost 10 pm. Bill/Susan have a propane campfire that was really nice – lovely flames, but no smoke, similar to a gas fireplace at home. Wonderful ambiance. Another grand day camping with friends.

One of the best things about Thousand Trails is this great chance to meet up with people you’ve met in the TT system before. Your circle of friends just grows. Bill/Susan hosted a party that included 6 people they’d never met before!

By the way, Susan has her own blog, full of photos: http://eastwardho2013.blogspot.com/

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

