Roof Cleaning Day

8/16/13 Friday at Jefferson, OH (Kenisee Lake-TT)

Another lovely, sunny day. John quietly walked over to our neighbor’s site, got talking, then came back with a tall ladder. This man had offered his ladder a few days ago when he saw us washing the rig and we noted we didn’t have a ladder to get on the roof. Thus, just as I was leaving to start work on posting the blog, John wanted to start working on the roof. You don’t stop a man when he’s starting a project and he needed me here for standby, if something should go awry or to bring things up and down the ladder.

20130816_103632[1]His cell phone image of the roof part way done. At the top is the rear end cap, where the roof is tan, like our rig, then it’s white. The shadows make it hard to see, so you may want to enlarge this one (click on it).

By noon he was ready to return the ladder and have another long conversation. I got hungry and started our lunches, so when he got back we ate. Then he needed to take a shower and soak his foot. Then we needed to get some milk and eggs (pretty expensive at Giant Eagle compared to the little store here in Jefferson). While in town we stopped at the Post Office looking for our ROD material. Not there. Hmm. I called the park we joined. They said they sent it to Spokane Valley, sorry. Great. Later our neighbor in Spokane said it was there, so he’s sending it our way. Sheesh, we won’t have it when we go to Pymatuning (ROD). Hope that’s not a problem.

All this time I’ve been itching to get in touch with our friends from Alabama and Washington, whom we haven’t seen much of lately. When we were driving to our campsite, we saw Sherie, heading out for ice cream, so John said he wanted some. He did a big job today, so I’m all for making him happy, so off we go to get ice cream. On our way back home again we get stopped at Judy’s Winnebago – John wants to see her rig, if it’s similar to the one we saw at an FMCA rally. It was nice, but now she got talking. A lot. At this point I just want to lie down, still wishing I could visit with our other friends, but just SO tired (I think partly from this sense that I need to be somewhere else), so I told John I was going home to rest. So I took a nap as he visited with Sherie.

When he got home, he sat by “our” pond, enjoying the birds, bees and dragonflies. I got up as he came back to the rig and I went out to enjoy “our” pond. Ah, peace and quiet. At this point I found out that some of our friends were still in Cleveland and others had other plans. So it goes.

After our supper of corn on the cob and meatloaf, we relaxed to watch taped TV shows. I like “The Profit.”

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

