Nothing Like Planning Your Day Around a ½ Price Milkshake

8/29/13 Thursday at Jefferson, OH (Kenisee Lake-TT)

So after our morning routine I posted the blog and caught up on emails while John researched. This computer stuff in the morning is beginning to become an extension of our routine, it seems.

What we planned for today: early light lunch, then hiking at park at Lake Erie, so we could have hamburgers and ½ priced shakes at Steak and Shake (only available on weekdays between 2 and 4). Then grocery shopping and home. Then popcorn for supper time.

Our lunch wasn’t all that early, nor light, but we were ready to go at noon. We walked over to site C23 to see if other Lewis and Clark FMCA Chapter members were at home and may want to join us. On our way, we waved to a couple in their SUV as they were leaving. Campers wave to other campers all the time. When we reached C23 we saw that their car wasn’t there. Darn. Hmm they have South Dakota license plates and the car we just waved to had the same. Then we turned to see they had gone to OUR site. I waved. Of course, they didn’t look over where we were….and went on their way. I emailed: “we just walked by you”.

IMG_1672 IMG_1673Off to Ashtabula and Walnut Beach Park. It’s next to Hubbard House so I took it’s photo. This beach has a LOT of sand.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1674

Left Side

 

 

 

 

 

Right side

Right side

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Land side, behind me.

Land side, behind me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stream early on the path

Stream early on the path

 

 

Purple grasses that lined our path.

Purple grasses that lined our path.

IMG_1681

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Why did they plant tires along the way?

Why did they plant tires along the way?

The trails turned into one – that bordered the Lake and went to those coal piles we saw from the Maritime Museum.

We still had a couple hours before 4 pm, so we got our chairs from the car and sat under the trees’ shade, talking philosophically about how when we were young 2000 seemed eons away and here it is 2013. I (who love to read science fiction) thought life would be like the Jetson’s then. It’s interesting how basically, we still have cars, homes, roads not ALL that different from then. Except for computers and phones – they have really changed how we live, how we connect. Anyway, with the breezes from the Lake and the shade, it was the perfect temperature on a really hot, humid day.

Finally, time for those shakes! We got there around 3:30pm, put in our order, only find out that we have to PAY for our shakes before 4 to get that discount. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal (gaucomole steakburger for me, garlic double burger for John, then Campfire S-mores shake). Excellent!! Burgers were $3.99 each, shake was $1.75.

Grocery shopping at the nearby Aldi’s (great produce and prices). We love how they have special grocery carts where you have to put a quarter into the handle of the cart to release it from the row, then when YOU RETURN your own cart, a quarter is released back to you. I also love how the cashiers get to sit while taking your money and you get to bag your own groceries. Cash only. (Debit cards count as cash.) Most efficient.

IMG_1685On the way home: I guess they REALLY want you to notice when it’s a RED light (larger). We got home around 5 pm, got the groceries put away. John started watching the news when we heard a knock! It was Chuck and Lorraine!! Finally connecting. We invited them in (still hot out there) and enjoyed a wonderful conversation until 8 pm, when they needed to get home for their supper.

We had our yummy popcorn and settled in for the night.

One of our best days ever!!! I feel for those who are working at jobs.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

