Moving on – to Clinton, OH

9/3/13 Tuesday at Port Clinton, OH (Erie Islands Resort-ROD)

Some minor excitement as we pulled out of our site, a neighbor was yelling and waving his arms: we had left the awning over the front door out. Big thanks to that neighbor, although John said he realized it was out right about that moment. The Lewis and Clark gang stopped by, saying goodbyes again and letting us know they were eating breakfast at Denny’s. We thanked them, but declined the offer. We’d eaten already and were focused on getting the trip done.

Next, after hooking up the tow car, we did our normal lights check and discovered that the left rear light is out on the car. Good to know. We went on to the Pilot just off I-90 for fuel. The best news: there were empty slots!! So it was about 9:30 am when we took off from there. The Denny’s was nearby. Goodby, gang, see you later!

On down the road, another couple minor incidents: I noticed the water line to the right wiper blade was flopping, not attached. Glad I noticed before we needed to clean the window with fluid. A ball of wires dropped down behind our TV. We haven’t found a way to permanently keep that stuff up there.

Not so minor: John had to run over a hubcap in the road, cars were to his left and no space available on the right. So at the rest stop after Cleveland I put the wire back up behind the TV and we looked for damage from that hubcap. None was visible on the rig or the car. Whew! Hope there is nothing we missed. We took a walk then, stretching our legs and backs.

Our biggest blood pressure moment was in Cleveland, on I-90, where my GPS said take exit 170B and John’s said take I-71 exit, but we didn’t have those choices, so there was a ALT I-90 exit that we took. As soon as we’d gone a little ways both our GPS’s showed we were off our blue line. Dang. Sweat time. I could see we could continue to OH 490, then take it to I-90. His GPS was directing John similarly. Unfortunately John was sure he didn’t want to get onto I-90 at this point, that it would start to be the toll road now. He’s looking for Hwy 2. I’m telling him, NOT YET, to please aim for I-90 now. Thankfully, the GPS’s and I prevailed and he followed our directions back onto I-90. Whew!! We got onto Hwy 2 right when I-90 becomes a toll road (Ohio Turnpike).

Just as the beginning of our trip was a little bumpy, so was the ending. We found our campground easily enough, then our campsite, BUT after setting out our slides and rolling up onto blocks, we realized the power wasn’t coming into our Miss Zanzibar. Once we put our voltage meter into the pedestal (something we were doing as the very first thing when we began this voyage, but got lackidasical about as time went on), we could see that the voltage was way too high. John found several more sites with problems, then went to the office to let them know. Thus we had to move all this stuff we had out to connect the rig to water, power and sewer. Also we had to get those slides in and drive off the blocks. Finally, we settled into our new site (2 pm) and John demanded lunch before we finished the job. Susan came by wanting to know if we’d like to join them at Steak and Shake for supper, but we’d just finished our lunch so we said no. We rested, then got talking to a neighbor we “left in the dust” when we moved from our original spot. He was concerned that we moved because of him! So he gave us lots of advice, including ideas for exploring this area. Then it was supper time.

Also, before the neighbor came by, I’d called Splendide to find out about our washer/dryer problem. Towels ended up smashed against the sides of the drum instead of soft and dry. The good news: it’s because I’m not using fabric softener. I’m doing that because the microfiber cloths I use require that no fabric softener be used in the machine I clean them in. He had a solution: do the wash and dry cycles separately, so I can take the items out of the washer, shake them, then put them in again for the dry cycle. That’s so much better than a repair issue!

This ended up a beautiful day. After starting with solid clouds and some rain, the afternoon became sunny with cotton clouds to fill the blue skies. So nice. Highs in the low 70’s.

After supper we had a little night get together with Susan/Bill and Larry (Gail didn’t come over concern for the mosquitoes). We split at dusk when those mosquitoes came out in force!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

