Youth Rodeo, National Road and Zane Grey Museums

9/21/13 Saturday at Kimbolton, OH (Rocky Fork Ranch Resort-ROD)

Young cowboys at opening ceremony

Young cowboys at opening ceremony

Pouring rain. We slept in, mostly I did. I really wanted to go to the rodeo here, so even though I didn’t feel well, I still wanted to watch. Got the wash going (we had towels and sheets to do as well), then we went to the youth rodeo. We left the rodeo early, because I was so tired, achy, with

Dummy Roping

Dummy Roping

that sore throat as well.

Advanced Dummy Roping

Advanced Dummy Roping

Calf Riding

Calf Riding

IMG_1912

Goat Tying-following rope to tail then removing ribbon.

Goat Tying-following rope to tail then removing ribbon.

IMG_1919 IMG_1920

Sheep Riding

Sheep Riding

IMG_1925

Zane Grey was probably manic depressive, writing Westerns furiously for days with a pencil, then using activity (fishing, hunting) to escape his black periods

Zane Grey was probably manic depressive, writing Westerns furiously for days with a pencil, then using activity (fishing, hunting) to escape his black periods

IMG_1989John wanted to see the Zane Grey Museum and we found out the best time would be this afternoon. SO, after lunch, we drove there. The Zane Grey Museum really was 3 museums, also of the National Road and Zanesville/Roseville Pottery.

Thick growth had to be removed. Ohio was called the Black Forest, because it was so dense, it was black

Thick growth had to be removed. Ohio was called the Black Forest, because it was so dense, it was black

IMG_1995 IMG_1949

Conestoga freight wagons-the semis of the time. Note rider is on horse pulling wagon, not on wagon

Conestoga freight wagons-the semis of the time. Note rider is on horse pulling wagon, not on wagon

Brakes on wagon consisted of pad of wood and leather leftovers like vests and shoes to increase friction, thus the terms brake pads and brake shoes

Brakes on wagon consisted of pad of wood and leather leftovers like vests and shoes to increase friction, thus the terms brake pads and brake shoes

S bridge, to lesson runaway of horse in trouble

S bridge, to lesson runaway of horse in trouble

The National Road was proposed by George Washington (who was a surveyor at 16), to follow the capitals of some southern states. Built 1811 to 1838, from Cumberland, MD to Vandalia, IL (the capital until Lincoln had it moved to Springfield).

IMG_2015This road followed Ebenezer Zane’s Trace (path). Zanesville was named after him and Zane Grey was his grandchild. It became the current US Route 40 in the 1920’s when it was paved. This was displayed by a beautiful diorama.

These 2 Frenchmen invented a glaze that was iridescent, but took their secret to the grave (1st ceramic image)

These 2 Frenchmen invented a glaze that was iridescent, but took their secret to the grave (1st ceramic image)

IMG_2005 IMG_2010 IMG_2011Even with the pottery, (Zanesville was renowned for it’s clay and original pottery). I was ready to leave before John. On the way home we got groceries. At home I continued the laundry and took naps while John watched old TV shows. I worked on writing the blog after supper, concerned that I won’t remember what went on so long ago. It was a struggle, but I managed! I procrastinated doing the blog because I just haven’t felt well.

PS: At night potters would remove clay from the National Road (since good veins were exposed by the traffic). In the morning the people would note: Take care of that “potter’s hole”, now known as “potholes”.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

