Picnic (Plus other dates posted)

9/28/13 Saturday at Morgantown, WV (Sand Springs RV Resort-GS)

Worked on the blog, then met with Lynn and Gene at 11 am to leave for the picnic they’d arranged, at Gene’s property in Pennsylvania. It took about 2 hours to get there, then we set up everything.

To put it simply, we all had a glorious time (also invited were Gene’s folks and 2 couples they know), not leaving until it got dark! It was a bit of a scramble getting everything gathered up and put in away in the dark-with a tall lamp nearby for light. John and I made it home by 10 pm, our bedtime.

Relaxing With Games

9/29/13 Sunday at Morgantown, WV (Sand Springs RV Resort-GS)

We slept in, then went to Mass in Morgantown at 11 am. Small church where they use chairs (each with a kneeler attached behind and a pocket on the side for hymnals). It worked nicely. Their musicians were 3 men: 1 for the piano and 2 to lead us. They did a great job. I had fun singing.

After lunch we drove to Lynn and Gene’s place, then had a fun afternoon playing Scrabble (Lynn won) and 13 (card game), which Lynn also won! Gene close behind in both games. We’ve met our match!

Work and Fun

9/30/13 Monday at Morgantown, WV (Sand Springs RV Resort-GS)

We spent the morning getting ready for our trip tomorrow to Front Royal, VA. The D/S slide was VERY tight, so the extra bonding things we’d used to keep it smooth, came off. Back to the drawing board. I even cleaned house and got 3 loads of laundry done.

We had picnic leftovers for lunch at Lynn and Gene’s, then on with the games, until dinner. John and I took Lynn and Gene out to Ali Baba’s at the Morgantown Airport. Good food and atmosphere. We said our goodbyes at their house later, then got home around 8:20 pm, in time for some of Dancing With The Stars.

Moving on – to Front Royal, VA

10/1/13 Tuesday at Front Royal, VA (Skyline Ranch Resort-RPI)

This trip was a lot of Interstate: I-68 to I-70, then I-81S. We could have taken a “shortcut” via Hwy 522, but Gene advised against it. 4 lane freeways are more suited to our RV than 2 lane country roads. Some prefer those roads in their RV, for the scenery and slower pace. We had gorgeous scenery on the Interstate, so we were perfectly happy, even with the extra 20 miles. Here, (especially I-68 West Virginia & I-70) they have lots of big hills, so you’re constantly going up and down at 5% and 6% grades. For miles. In the mountains back west it’s more like you got up for a lot of miles, to the pass, then you go down a lot of miles, then you’re done with it! Both have wonderful scenery in their own unique ways.

20131001_090703 IMG_2424That rock cut near Cumberland, MD is actually the Cumberland Narrows, not the Cumberland Gap. The later is apparently a tunnel! We got fuel and a rest at a Pilot early on, then another rest at about half way, when we ate our sandwiches. The rig was parked on a good incline, so we didn’t stay long. Since it was such a hill, the water pump couldn’t pull any fresh water and our tank indicator said we had none. When we were settled at the campground, miraculously, we had 33% of our fresh tank full of water!

This trip was just under 200 miles. Our goal is to stay below 200 miles. Since the majority of it was on good Interstates, it wasn’t too bad, although John’s legs were bothering him in the last hour. It took an hour and 20 minutes, including 3 stops (2 for restrooms and a snack, another for fuel), so we feel good about how well it went.

Arriving at 1 pm, we were settled in by 2 pm, got the laundry going and ate lunch. Then John drove to Winchester, where we shopped at Camping World and then at Costco. While John got our items at Costco, I got on the Internet, using my cell phone as a hot spot. First chance at decent Internet. Our last campground and this one have very poor cell phone reception and Internet service. I managed to email the people we hope to see during our stay at Front Royal, besides exploring the Skyline Drive, which terminates at the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Supper and TV for our evening.

Visiting Neighbors From the Past

10/2/13 Wednesday at Front Royal, VA (Skyline Ranch Resort-RPI)

Because of our cell phone/Internet struggles, we just managed to send an email message yesterday (didn’t have any phone numbers) to our good friends from our neighborhood, Carnie and Joe. It looked like we could get together today, so that was my message, sent from the Costco parking lot in Winchester. Still unable to get any connections, we drove to Winchester’s Costco and checked our email. No response. I figured at this rate we may never manage communicating with our friends (they knew we’d be in the area 10/1-10/8, so I wanted to just go to their place, even if they had no warning. So we drove on to Inwood, WV, arriving at 11 am. Lo and behold, there was Joe, in the driveway, putting gas in his car! Sweet as they are they welcomed us with open arms, despite the lack of warning (they hadn’t looked at the message we’d sent). Thus went the whole day, visiting about old times and current ones until 6 pm. At that point, we headed back to Skyline Ranch Resort, getting there by 6:45 pm. We had leftovers for dinner, then some TV. I went to bed early while John stayed up for CSI.

I try not to get into politics, but this shutting down the government over a budget that they had months to prepare for is not thinking of the people. If the Republicans are so afraid of the consequences of the ACA/Obamacare, then they’ve had over 3 years to make better recommendations, to create a better solution. I think we can all agree this country is headed for financial catastrophe with the current system-health costs skyrocketing and millions without health insurance. Meanwhile, John and I came to Skyline to visit the National Parks here: Skyline Drive (which terminates at the beginning of the Blue Ridge Parkway) and Shenandoah National Park. Thanks to our representatives NOT working out a budget by deadline (don’t the majority of “the people” mange to make their deadlines?), or wanting to get rid of a law (aren’t we a law abiding nation?) we may not get to see them.

I’m posting this blog from the Martin’s grocery store parking lot in Front Royal. Looks like this will continue – spotty posts due to no coverage at the campground.

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

