Blue Ridge Parkway

10/11/13 Friday at Hillsville, VA (Lake Ridge RV Resort-PPA)

First off, we went to CVS to see if they gave flu shots and checked for ear wax. They were very busy, so we needed to fill out the paperwork, then return after noon for our flu shots. Apparently there are CVS pharmacies that have a Minute Clinic. Those would have been able to check John’s ears. I figure like Walmart has Walmart Super Centers. The pharmacist did explain that there was an urgent care facility down the road and gave directions. Since it was around 11 am when we were leaving CVS, we decided to use our wait time going to the urgent care. I’m so glad we did. It cost $55, but we found out that John doesn’t have wax in his ears, so he’ll be able to have that hearing test at Costco November 7th. The doctor also told us that he can put 5 drops of olive oil (or sweet oil, which is refined olive oil) in each ear once a week (at night so it won’t interfere with his hearing aids) to aid nature. Did you know that the skin in your ear replenishes itself, so that if you had a tattoo put in your ear, it would rotate around until it was all gone. The body is so amazing! Off to CVS, arriving shortly after noon. They gave us our shots right away. As John said, she did a great job-you could hardly feel it and no blood or bandages.

We enjoyed our picnic lunch in the car then took off for the Blue Ridge Parkway. Here are my photos:

Central Blue Ridge Parkway

Central Blue Ridge Parkway

Pucket Cabin (and corn crib). Aunt Orleana Hawks Pucket lived here during the latter of her 102 years. She started her career in midwifery after age 50, continuing until the year she died. They say she never lost a child or mother through her own fault. Ironically none of her own 24 children lived past infancy.

Pucket Cabin

Pucket Cabin

IMG_2589

Rhododendron “walls”

Rhododendron “walls”

Rhododendron “walls”

IMG_2594

Round Meadow Overlook trail.  Never saw any meadow, just the bridge and stream.

IMG_2597 IMG_2599 IMG_2601 IMG_2603

Mabry Mill – Really photogenic mill. He had to direct 2 small streams to the mill for enough water power.

IMG_2614 IMG_2621 IMG_2626 IMG_2648

Implements displayed there that had been placed in the 1940’s:

Seeder-drops seeds into furrow, then covers them.

Seeder-drops seeds into furrow, then covers them.

Sorghum machine: horse or mule walks circle pulling long pole which moves gears which grind stalks of sorghum placed by someone, with a green liquid getting squeezed out. It takes 10 gallons of liquid to make 1 gallon of syrup. They used this in place of molasses or sugar during the Civil War

Sorghum machine: horse or mule walks circle pulling long pole which moves gears which grind stalks of sorghum placed by someone, with a green liquid getting squeezed out. It takes 10 gallons of liquid to make 1 gallon of syrup. They used this in place of molasses or sugar during the Civil War

Lumber drying rack

Lumber drying rack

Still – in vivid colors, for fun and to see it better.

IMG_2645

Sawmill

IMG_2630

View from the Ridge

IMG_2656 IMG_2655 IMG_2654

Buffalo Mountain

IMG_2677

Rock Castle Gorge in vivid colors (by camera)

IMG_2659

The Saddle-area settled before the Revolution, now being replaced by forest.

IMG_2680

On the way home. Lots of small farms, many with cows, some with horses.

IMG_2686 Appalachian Scene

For fun: Dahlia, found at Mabry Mill

IMG_2633 Chrysanthemum

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in National Parks (NPS), Virginia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

