Getting Lost and Deep Creek Waterfalls

11/3/13 Sunday at Waynesville, NC (Creekwood Farm RV Park-PPA ($16/night)

Daylight savings gave us an extra hour of sleep, yay! Because it’s Sunday we start the day with a special treat of pancakes, then off to St. Margaret of Scotland Catholic Church.

IMG_3783 IMG_3779 IMG_3781

I’ve never heard of one named after St. Margaret of Scotland, then I remembered that in the Revolutionary years the Scots-Irish largely settled here. This church is built on a hill and takes full advantage of the surrounding beautiful Smokies. We were impressed with the sermon.  He also told us about the DVD set “Catholicism” by Fr. Barron.  It had seen some of it on PBS a couple years ago.  Beautiful.  The choir consisted of an organist who sang. Wonder what they’ll do if he’s sick or gone for some time? He played with a lot of volume so I think that’s why the congregation sang out.

On our way to the waterfalls, I wanted to check out the observation tower that promised the most photographed scene in the Smokies. I don’t think so. $.50 charge.

IMG_3787

Just a bit further up US 19 is a large produce stand. Here I got Fuji apples ($1.29/lb) that had some imperfections and hot boiled peanuts ($2 cup), plucked right out of boiling water. They reminded me of the roasted chestnuts (hot and soft) we’d enjoyed in Leavenworth at Christmas time EXCEPT these were like eating salt. Not sure if this is typical, but way too much salt for me.

From there we drove to the Deep Creek Waterfalls, having just the National Park Map. John told the GPS to go to Bryson City and Deep Creek Road. We got a little confused and turned too early (similar to our problem getting to church), but got back on track but once we got to our GPS point we were just plain lost. I’d seen signs for Deep Creek Campground and had read that the Waterfalls trailhead was across the creek from that campground, so we tried to follow those but got confused some more. It’s hard when you’re both feeling lost and frustrated, saying where you think it would be good to turn. SO if you’re heading to this trailhead from around Waynesville/Asheville, then take US 19 S to Bryson City until Depot St (first Deep Creek Campground sign) where the train tracks are. Keep following those brown signs until you see the “Great Smoky Mountains National Park” sign. Keep going until the trail head parking sign. It’s worth it. Lovely, easy, wide trail to Juney Whank Falls, then Tom Branch Falls and lastly Indian Creek Falls and back. That route is less than 2 miles.

IMG_3800 IMG_3814 IMG_3829

Juney Whank Falls

IMG_3805

Tom Branch Falls. The path from Indian Creek Falls goes past this one again. We stayed here, sitting on a bench enjoying the peaceful, gentle waterfall sounds for some time.

IMG_3808

Indian Creek Falls

IMG_3819 IMG_3817

What a fabulous way to spend a Sunday. If I lived here, I’d take this walk every weekend I could.

Next stop, the grocery store. Again, we turned too soon. Not too sure why we ended up in a High School parking lot, John used the GPS POI for grocery stores near the car. Sure enough, we returned to the road we’d turned off, went up to the next road and found our store! It was on a hill, not visible from where we’d turned. Guess what. They had Gala apples (beautiful) for $.99/lb. Sheez, my luck again.  At least I helped some local farmers.

As we’re heading home, the sun is going down. Lovely last scene for the day.

IMG_3836After supper we enjoyed a show on CNBC about Pope Francis.  What a great inspiration.  Then we had the best of times “hanging out” with a video call to Justin and his family.  Such a perfect Sunday

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in National Parks (NPS), North Carolina and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

