Finding Dinner Out

11/11/13 Monday at Fair Play, SC (Carolina Landing-TT)

Cold morning, but wonderful blue skies.  John put water in the batteries, tried to help Greg with his TV and tightened a handle (using a kind of glue of Greg’s to seal the screw because they were constantly working loose).  I spend the morning cleaning house.  Special project: after scrubbing counters, showers and toilet, I wiped a protectant (kind of wax we use on the RV) on their surfaces.  Nice.  In the afternoon I wrote and posted our blog.  Greg had explained last night that I need to resize my photos before I even send them to WordPress. Duh, why didn’t I realize that?  At their current size (2,000KB to 5,000KB) I’m paying for all that data transfer and above all struggling, at so many campgrounds with low WiFi strength, to send it.  I practiced his instrucitons and have made a note of them.  He also told us that Dollar General stores carry groceries.  We needed milk and there is one near this campground.  After lunch we drove there.  These stores are all over the South.  Different from Dollar Stores which sell everything for a dollar, these have all sorts of prices, not all at even dollars and for more than a dollar.  It struck me as like the neighborhood stores of old, with more than groceries.  The prices were reasonable too.  Thanks for another great tip, Greg!  Then we went on to Seneca (15 miles away) for Notary Public services.

Around 4:30 pm Greg stopped by to return our 2007 Trail Blazer (TT) magazine.  It has TT campground addresses and directions.  They were on their way to dinner.  I said I’d love to come but John wasn’t interested in Japanese food.  They talked him into giving it a try.  Greg doesn’t like vegetables either.  Thus began our adventure.  Greg & Marcia gathered the wood left near our site and brought to their site for campfire fun tonight.  We went in our car.  As John drove Greg and Marcia searched their phones for the address.  Soon they discovered that the place they had a coupon for was closed Mondays.  So after a half hour we arrived there, confirming it was closed.  They’d called the other Nagoya restaurants but they would not take their coupon.  They found a Mexican restaurant 5 miles away that had a coupon we could use.  Yay!  La Fogata had great food and service.  We talked while others came and left.  When we got back we gathered around the campfire for another rousing night of conversation.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in South Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

