Moving on – to Yemassee, SC

11/16/13 Saturday at Yemassee, SC (The Oaks at Point South-TT/MA)  

Some fog, cloudy day predicted. Good for a travel day. On I-85 before 9 am, so that was good. We got fuel ($3.499/gal of diesel-the least we’ve paid for fuel in 2013) and hooked up the car at the Mobile station on our way to I-85. Nice to get that accomplished at the beginning of our trip. John waited because South Carolina fuel is cheaper than in its neighboring states. The Brake Buddy (braking system in car) would not continue its test steps. It just went black. Wonderful. John decided he didn’t want to spend the time trying to get it to work. It’s helpful when you have to brake suddenly or for a long time, like on big mountains because it brakes the car, keeping it from trying to run into the motor home. We’re taking our chances that it won’t be called into service on this very long trip (255 miles). It’s had problems pretty much ever since we got it, so we’re thinking of buying another kind. They are expensive, though….

Even though this is really long for us, it’s pretty much Interstate: I-85 to I-385 to I-26, to I-95. One of the nice aspects of Interstates, besides being built for big rigs, is that they have rest areas. In South Carolina we saw one rest area set in the center of the Interstate lanes, so you take the left lane to enter it. Very efficient, I’d say. We stopped at the next rest area (10:30 am) where John thought he’d try to get the Brake Buddy working. He did and it started working! Smart guy. He also figured we could “exercise” our generator (recommended every month for ½ hour) by running it and our heat pump while we are going on down the road. I saw a sign off the road that said “Hi, I’m Bill Board. People Look Up To Me”. It had a drawing of a man’s face. Creative.

We came upon a couple interesting merge situations. In the first the lady (we assumed) was going 60 mph (like us) and was entering ahead of us. Then, while still in the merge lane, slowed down. John slowed down too, but it was a hard braking (when the Brake Buddy wasn’t operating) until she finally entered the freeway. What’s up with that? I suggested she was not paying attention, realized she needed to look for traffic on her left, so slowed down. I also felt since the Interstate drivers have the right of way (merging traffic yields) that John should have just kept going. BUT she could have decided to jump out in front of us, a worse situation than what actually happened. Lots of miles further down the road another car was ahead of us on the merge lane. In that case he was going slow, we were going 60 mph. So well before the merge lane ended John passed him. As we drew alongside, he honked (at us I presume). He was upset because we maintained our speed on the freeway? He had plenty of time left on the merge lane before entering the freeway. People are interesting. In both cases John didn’t have an opportunity to get into the left lane. Around Columbia (large city) was a WalMart distribution center. Huge.

I think I-95 (in S Carolina at least) wants to make sure no one dashes into oncoming traffic.

IMG_3949 I-85 view

We stopped for lunch and to stretch our legs at noon, then to the KOA (near our campground) for propane ($3.55/gal-yikes!-the most we’ve paid for propane ever) around 2 pm. A short drive away we reached the TT campground, Oaks and Point South. Lots of trees and leaves, thus no satellite service but our local antenna is working well. We got settled in by 3:30 pm and headed out to get groceries. On the way I got to thinking how we need to go to church tomorrow, probably near the grocery stores in Beaufort. John pulled off and we researched. Sure enough, they are all about 30 miles away. So I suggested we give ourselves a break and shop when we go to church tomorrow.

At the RV John checked out the TV channels we can get. After dinner we played “13” again. I won last night and tonight as well! Finally I’m getting the wild cards. It certainly is more fun and rather confidence building when you actually win some games. Bring it on, John!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in South Carolina and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

