Trish and John Moving on – to Betty/Denny’s RV Pad in Longwood, FL

1/11/14 Saturday at Longwood, FL (Betty/Denny’s pad)

Today we decided to take the road less traveled: Card Sound Road. Two reasons: we were told it’s less congested and scenic. It is also a toll road, $1/car ($.50 per axle), Sun Pass not accepted. When leaving you are of course on US 1 (Overseas Highway) but you’ll have a choice to leave US 1 at the end of Key Largo. Likewise when approaching the Keys you can start US 1 in Florida City or choose Card Sound Road. It’s everything they said (the scenic is largely solid walls of green on both sides), thus relaxing. Also 55 mph. It does add about 5 miles to the trip. I think it was worth it, especially if you’re driving an RV.

We were on US 1 for a little bit, then right onto the Florida Turnpike. We’d signed up for Toll-By-Plate online (no $2.50  administrative charge then) and feel it’s well worth the peace of mind. We’ve noticed on the local news that I-95 often had major car pile ups. A mini (sticks to one vehicle) Sun Pass is $5 (removable Sun Pass is $25) and you’re charges are $1.21 each time whereas the Toll-By-Plate charge is ($1.28 X 2 + $1.25 cash at toll booth).  . [UPDATE:   We’ve got the bill for our entire round trip ride from Pompano Beach to Homestead then back to Pompano Beach via the Turnpike: $5.19.  Good deal]

We stopped at Costco (N of Palm Beach) for lunch, meeting a lovely couple from the area and their 2 sweet girls.

A couple times on our way we saw “clouds” of turkey buzzards. We think they were hanging out on a fun thermal draft.

I have to say, for such a long drive (378 miles) Florida has good roads. Speaking of Florida, I’m sure you’ve noticed I haven’t said much about citrus. We’ve seen a few small orange groves but apparently many have been sold for development (houses). There is a virus that’s also infecting the orange trees. If one of your trees is infected you have to cut it down right away, it’s that infectious. I have to say the oranges I’ve seen in the stores are not as nice as those we get in the Northwest. I understand they do have large orchards in central Florida but still, they import many from South America.

Bummer. Hit an accident scene: it took ½ an hour to go 2 miles.

As we neared Longwood I saw a billboard: “Love God. Love People.” Just below that was a bright yellow sign that said: “Cash for Guns.”

We finally made it (after another gas and grocery stop) before 5 pm. Really bushed, but got unpacked. I must note that I don’t see how truck drivers and people who have to sit all day in wheelchairs manage. John got the Seahawks game on late in the 1st quarter. It was a good game, especially with the Seahawks winning. Go Seahawks!!!

Zanzibar

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

