Moving on – to Wauchula, Fl

2/11/14 Tuesday at Wauchula, FL (Peace River-TT)

Getting ready to leave is smoother these days. We seem to have gotten more efficient, we feel more confident that we’ll get the slides in (when it’s not raining) easily enough and I seem to be calmer (short trips with easy roads helps with that). The only glitch this time is that at about 40 miles into our 80 mile trip I got a phone call from Sherwood Forest. Apparently John had left our “y” connector and water pressure regulator attached to the water at the pedestal. John felt it wasn’t worth the cost of driving the car back (total 80 miles) just for those so we asked them to please hold them for us until we are back it the area next Tuesday. Big THANKS to our neighbors, Mike and Camille, who saved them for us and called Sherwood Forest’s office. They’re also the ones who told us ways to enjoy Disney without spending money. RV people are so helpful.

View of Power Line in Mickey shape..  barely caught it as we were speeding by.  I’d been watching this so many times we passed by but never had my camera, so this time I managed to get the image.

Micky

When we arrived at Peace River, the people near where we were looking for a spot to park gave helpful information (like this pedestal doesn’t work, workers worked on this one and took the sign away when they left). We are “in the field” with only 30 amp power and water. If we want more we can check into the lottery every day at noon. John doesn’t want to move. I rather agree. It does mean we have to hold our laundry a week, but we’ve certainly done that before.

Beautiful bright hot sunny day!

In the afternoon when we gave a gentleman at the clubhouse our site number he explained that there were a couple sewered sites we could “claim” before 3 pm. We walked to each and mildly considered them because we really didn’t want to pack up and move again already. BUT we also noticed that rain/storms were headed here tomorrow evening. We’ve already over extended our jacks and aren’t level so if the ground sinks with all the rain it could get ugly. Finally we figured we’d ask for A9, but it was after 3 pm. When we got to the clubhouse the lady said it was still open and put our name on. When we arrived (walking) we noticed a couple seriously considering the spot. Apparently they were given it too. We all went back to the clubhouse to find out who had the “rights” to that spot. Because that couple had arrived after 3 pm but before we’d registered our desires, they “won”. Glad we weren’t desperate but now I’m wanting to get a spot tomorrow. Crossing our fingers there is a level one for us.

Back at our rig, with the A/C running, I took a small nap as John watched TV. A friend texted that they are in the park as well. We agreed to meet tomorrow. After supper we started our walk around the campground only to run into these friends! So it happened that we stood at that spot and talked until it was dark and the almost full moon was lighting the sky. Finally we let them go get their supper.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving on – to Wauchula, Fl

  1. We have forgotten and left behind three water pressure regulators in one year. We no longer use one unless we just have to. Glad you are getting yours back! Fellow RVers are the best!

Leave a Reply

