Lunch at Jacaranda Hotel and Cards With Friends

2/17/14 Monday at Wauchula, FL (Peace River-TT)

Got going cleaning floors while John worked on his pre trip jobs. We’d planned to see the Cracker Trail Museum but time got away from us. We went to the clubhouse to get the gate code for Karen and Sherri and ask about getting a month reserved here in January 2015. They don’t even know what they can charge for these seasonal reservations in 2015 until sometime in the future so that was a disappointment. Soon Sherri and Karen drove up on their Harley Davidson to get a little visiting time in before we all got together with more of their friends. When she saw Susan on the other road, we dashed off to find their coach only to realize it was just on the other side of us, a couple rigs up the road. A great couple, sharing their experiences on the Royal Caribbean Oasis of the Seas – a REALLY large ship – as we waited for more friends Richie/Debbie. Off we all went to Avon Park, FL to see the historic Hotel Jacaranda (built in 1923) and feast on the buffet provided by South Florida State College. The building was named after the 150 year old Jacaranda Tree that had to be felled to make room for the building. It’s listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It has operated continuously as a hotel since its opening in 1926. You should see the the photos of the famous people who have been there.

Hotel 1 Hotel 2 Hotel 3 Hotel 4

The last image is of the pianist who entertained us with his music as we ate a really delicious buffet prepared by the SFSC culinary students. Not only were the food and piano tunes great but John and Susan even paid the bill for our whole crew. How special is that? They are also headed for Orlando tomorrow so we said we’d try to hold the best spot for them if we get there first.

When we got home we went over to John/Susan’s rig to watch videos of Richie’s entertaining performance at the local fundraiser – in drag!

Too soon, we needed to get together with Pam/Randy and show Phil/Naomi how the Brake Buddy works. When Pam/Randy arrived we set up our tiny table on the back side of our rig, where there was shade on this gorgeous day, and began a game a “13”. Suddenly we heard this loud rumble! Did something hit our RV? No… it was Sherri as she got her motorcycle running!! They’d knocked on our door but we didn’t answer – because we weren’t inside. We all had a great laugh and hearty goodbyes. It could be awhile before we get to see Karen/Sherri again. Sigh

Around 4 pm we took our chairs and game to Phil and Naomi’s rig, so the guys could figure out if the Brake Buddy would work in Phil’s car. They had troubles, deciding to let it cool down, so then we all played a game of “13”, starting at the beginning. Loads of fun until it got dark and cold. We managed to finish with light for the table and sweaters provided by our hosts.

What a marvelous day – too busy for words!!

Pam/Randy headed for home as we went inside for supper. I finished off our day by doing the rest of my house cleaning as John watched more Olympics.

 

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

