Moving on – Wildwood, FL

2/25/14 Tuesday at Wildwood, FL (Alliance Coach)

Even though this would be a short easy trip, I didn’t sleep for most of the night. What a pain. Because we only had to go 45 miles, we took our time getting ready and were on the road around 10:30 am. We arrived at Alliance Coach at 11:30 am. We checked in but got confusing information that sounded like we could just go find our campground spot. In a while we figured out that there is a camp host and, despite the sign that said you needed to check in with them if you come in after hours, we found out we needed to check in even if we’d arrived during hours. At this point John spotted our friend Bill, then Julian. They explained how long they’ve been waiting for parts. I got hold of the camp host who told us we needed to be placed on a waiting list for a spot in the campground since all sites are currently in use. She pointed to where we could park our RV for now. Sheesh.

So back at the reception desk we ask to be placed on the waiting list. Sure enough, they hadn’t put us on it. It had been an hour since we’d first checked in so others could have gotten on that list since then but oh well, we got on it then, with 8 people ahead of us.

The good news was that our friends Bill/Susan and Julian/Sharon were set up at sites 1 & 2 and invited us to join them at their breezy, shady spot. What fun sharing their sad tales of waiting for parts. At one point Susan asked if our part (inverter) was in. I told her we’d ordered and paid for it 2 months ago so surely it was in. It did seem a good idea to double check though, so I called the Alliance number. Bottom line: no it was not here. It had been ordered but the sender had lost the paperwork while waiting for a back ordered part. Nice. The lady telling me this wanted to know if we still wanted to have it ordered. Definitely I said. Would she please confirm that we had paid for it already. Yes, she found that. SO since it was late in the day by now it probably won’t get shipped from Michigan until Wednesday and should arrive Monday. The good news is we have to wait for the warranty process to happen also: Alliance tech checks our old inverter, calls warranty letting them know his diagnosis. As expensive as it is the warranty people will need to send one of their own to check it out and verify that the Alliance tech is right. Once we have their approval Alliance can begin installing the inverter. If we’re lucky they might coincide. We also have a few other items for Alliance to give their estimates for so that would take up some of our waiting time as well.

With that settled we continued our good times with the gang at site 2. For dinner we all contributed “heavy pupus”. Susan even invited 2 more couples who are staying at the TT campground in Wildwood (Three Flags): Randy/Sharon and Larry/Gail. So much food (lots of cheeses, crackers, grapes, chicken, even wine) that I was just stuffed. We brought cheese cubes, nuts, chips and ginger snaps. Wonderful visiting until the dark and mosquitoes struck and everyone went home.

Good news:  our site has satellite reception!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

