The Wait Begins

2/26/14 Wednesday at Wildwood, FL (Alliance Coach)

We had an appointment with our service advisor, Lori at 7 am, so we set our alarm for 6:30 am. Time to get ready enough to meet with her, then have breakfast afterward. It was so foggy, I just had to take a couple photos:

Zan 1 Zan 2

We were at the customer service center in time, although she was late. Once we gave her our information and issues we got back to Miss Zanzibar and started making our breakfast. Lo and behold Lori called: the service tech will be coming for our coach in 5-10 minutes. Wow, did we ever fly getting our breakfast put away (but I was so hungry) and closing up the rig for its journey to the service bay. We did manage to grab our water bottles, snack bars and computers as we headed for the customer service area. I noted that it’s so different having repairs done on your stick built home compared to your RV home. For one thing in the former the repair person comes to you while in the latter you must bring your home to them. Plus you can enjoy all the comforts of home while the repairman works on it but you are rendered homeless while someone works on your coach.

Issues: Replace inverter, replace windshield gasket (failure is causing another leak), repair bathroom Fantastic Fan and fix valve stem on wheel. The first is the biggie, John now tells me he doesn’t want to fix the gasket (why if we trade Miss Zanzibar in). Lori said they don’t do wheel problems (they don’t have the bays set up for it) and recommended a place up the road that could. Maybe we shouldn’t fix the fan and valve stem also.

Then Lori brought us super news: the inverter is not the problem, it’s a wire (between the microwave outlet and inverter) that fried. Also, because the Michigan company hadn’t yet shipped our inverter, that order was canceled in time for us to avoid the freight fees.

We asked for estimates for the other issues since we’ve decided to hold off on those repairs until we are at the Monaco facility in Decatur IN. Our reasons are that if we find another rig we want to buy, why not trade in this one without paying for all those repairs? Also the per hour rate in Decatur is $99 while it’s $120 here.

We worked on our computers until lunchtime when we were famished. Because “Five Guys” was nearby and we’d heard good things about them we headed there for lunch. Yum. Great burgers just loaded with toppings including grilled onions and grilled mushrooms. It was good competition to the Guy’s Burgers on our Celebrity Breeze cruise ship.

For our afternoon we played “13”. Close games, with both winning about equally. Maybe I’m getting better at seeing different card scenarios or maybe I’m getting luckier.

Finally Lori came to let us know that everything was done. She explained that because of sun exposure, time and our not coating the urethane in the middle (with black urethane) and replenish it around the outer edges our windshield is “popping out”. She said it’s hard to say when it would completely fall out but it could be any time between now and at the most a year. We’ve talked to someone who was driving down the road when their windshield fell out. Can you imagine that? So we determined that it would be worth our peace of mind (and possibly much cheaper) if we get the gasket replaced now. This is a 7 hour project (they have to take the windshields out and after everything is back in place it needs time to set. Normally the gasket is available locally so she left to get that part ordered.

With time before supper we strolled over to Julian/Sharon’s site an visited, getting to learn lots about their rig, a 2003 Monaco Dynasty that they bought new. They’ve taken really good care of it.

We got back home to make a quick supper of chili and popcorn. Hey it had rained hard all day. Then I looked at my phone which I’d left at the coach to power it back up. Oops, Lori had called. I called her back (she was still at work at 5:30 pm). She had bad news. The gasket needed to be special ordered and won’t be in until next Monday. Did we want to go ahead with that repair. We said yes, but that we needed to leave by March 6th. So we get this lovely campsite (great power, TV, water) until next week. We even have some nearby grass, although no sewer at our site. Plus our friends will be here Thursday for their repairs then they’ll leave but some remain at a nearby campground, so life is still good.

Lesson: WE need to check all the seals on our RV every 6 months, replenishing all that need it. That’s how you avoid leaks. Why don’t they offer classes on this? The manual gives this general mandate but is not specific as to where to look and what sealants to use in the various joints.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

