Windshield Gasket Replaced Successfully and RV Wholesale Value

3/4/14 Tuesday at Wildwood, FL (Alliance Coach)

Dang, we had to wake up by 6 am, so by a cell phone alarm, in order to have breakfast and get the rig ready to move to the bay. This is its big day when they take the windshields out (ours is not a single), set the new gasket in with our old windshields. Sometimes the windshield breaks so we were on tender hooks hoping that wouldn’t happen to ours. It didn’t-yeah!

Our morning was spent researching RV purchase info. The most important was how to figure out your wholesale (trade in) value-what nada tells your dealer. Go to www.nadaguides.com. Choose the RVs section, click on your model, this is important: don’t add any options, get price [low retail], take that amount minus 10%. Now you have the dealer’s NADA figure. That was eye opening. We thought our trade in value was $80,000. It’s actually $56,799. So now I figure we have, at the most, $126,800 to spend. Of course there is more in the piggy bank but there are also future costs – medical issues, vacations/getting together with family, home upgrades, another car… I feel safer assuming the worst while John feels comfortable assuming the best I think. From my perspective we’d be spending a lot of money for ease with our slides, possibly fewer water leak issues and a ladder to access our roof.

We went to a Mexican restaurant in Leesburg. Not at all upscale, like a family run business but really good food for great prices. When we returned we stopped at the Russell Stover Candy Store. Yum – so much chocolate at great prices! We got over $20 worth plus $5 worth of chocolates for each using their rewards card. Of course, this is the day before Lent/Ash Wednesday.

More computer time in the afternoon: reading emails, blogs and more RV research. John took a walk around the for sale rigs on the grounds earlier. I did the same around 4:30 pm. Our rig wasn’t ready at 4 pm because of struggles with the new gasket but it was all done by 5:30 pm when the tech returned Miss Zanzibar to her site. With instructions: no jacks down, no blocks under tires, no slides out. Mustn’t tweek frame which could tweek windshield. We obeyed.

This called for a simple supper of chili and popcorn, then TV, showers and bed. We need to “stay still” tomorrow until at least 2 pm.  As John says our Miss Zanzibar is recuperating from major surgery.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

