RV Freezing Weather Tips

3/26/14 Wednesday Arley, AL (Hidden Cove-TT/MA)

The temperatures got down in the 20’s last night, so we prepared: When we were through using our water for the evening, having about ½ the fresh water tank filled, John turned off our city water at the pedestal and left our “Y” connector there open so no water would be in our hose from the pedestal to our RV. He should have disconnected our hose and let it drain too because ice was frozen in it this morning. Back in the olden days when we camped in our tent trailer we learned the hard way, getting water frozen in our hose because we were hooked to city water. He also brought our outside water filter inside the RV. Once that freezes it won’t work anymore. We met a lady once who lived year round in an area that got pretty cold in winter. She simply used her fresh water tank all the time, filling it with her city water whenever necessary. You want to keep your tank fairly full of water so that water doesn’t freeze.

Last night was so cold, my head felt like it was being squeezed. Finally I realized I could pull our very warm bedspread over my head. Ah. Around that time (5 am) John got up and turned our propane furnace on. You can have space heaters going through the night but our bedroom one is getting really hot along the wire and plug so I don’t trust it. We do have heat pumps (which use the campground’s electricity not our propane), but they won’t operate efficiently when the outdoor temperatures are under 40 degrees. It’s also hard on them. So when it’s really cold your life goes more into the dry camping mode-no endless city water and no endless (electric) heat. At least you have your sewer, but it’s still best to let those tanks (gray and black) fill to ½ full before emptying so they will clean out when exiting. Also, since our windows are single pane and we don’t have house grade insulation, this place lets cold in like a sieve. Thus I put down the mini-blinds (or day/night shades) and pull the curtain across the front windshield to cut some of that heat loss.

We needed to do some tax business with John’s sister over the phone and wanted to purchase a small ceramic heater to use at night so we took off for the city, Jasper this time, 45 minutes away. Got some other phone business accomplished as well and had our lunch at Arby’s for a treat. The bad news: neither Walmart or Home Depot had any space heaters. All sold out. Guess it’s been a long very cold winter here.

We spent our afternoon in front of our laptops and the TV (taped Olympics).  At one point I watched 2 mockingbirds do a sort of dance, one sidestepping then the other matching those steps, then changing the direction…. for several minutes.  A video would have been more interesting, but not a lot.

Mockinbirds

After our clam sauce spaghetti supper accompanied by wine, we simply melted into our places (recliner and sofa) watching the Olympic Ice Dancers win their medals (DVR tapes). What graceful beauty. I mentioned a walk around the campground before dark but neither of us felt compelled to move. The wine and ice dancing were just a stronger pull for both of us.

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Alabama and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

