Xtend and Climb Ladder and Washing Rig

4/2/14 Wednesday Arley, AL (Hidden Cove-TT/MA)

Beautiful day – we have a tall ladder now. John got it up easily and was on top of our roof before I could say what are you doing? I handed him the empty bucket with our cleaning ingredients: baby shampoo and vinegar. Very gentle and works on hard water stuff. He had the hose up already and added the water. I also handed him the handle with lambskin scrub (gentle). This time it cleaned so much easier (maybe we’d been under fewer trees) using our normal RV cleaning ingredients and standing with the lambskin scrubber. Yeah! We continued, after he rinsed the roof and cleaned the sides in shadow (front and D/S). We took a break while the sun made its way in the sky so the other sides were in shadow. When we clean the sides we rinse, wash with lambskin, rinse, squeegee, then dry with a special mop that holds terry cloth rags – so it reaches the top without the need for a ladder. We both work at this chore-John is in charge of washing while I do the squeegee and drying.

By the way, most campgrounds (including most TT campgrounds) don’t allow washing your RV in their campground. At some places a mobile team will come clean your rig for a hefty fee. Usually the RV Resort doesn’t have the water to spare for everyone to use while the mobile team brings their own water. In this case there is a rule that we can’t wash our rig but we asked the manager nicely. She noted that water isn’t a problem now (few campers) and she didn’t think the other campers (few around) would mind. Our neighbors certainly are gone. Thank heavens we got a ladder and permission because the last time we washed Miss Zanzibar was in August 2013.

Great day: a big project accomplished and relaxing time just soaking in nature as well.

To top it off we got talking with new neighbors across the street from us. They have a Tiffin and spent all of today in Red Bay getting parts for their rig. They said the place is really packed with people trying to get repairs done and they’re so glad they’re here in this campground. All those snow birds are stopping there on their way home.

Ah Spring!

flower 1

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Alabama and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

