Bathroom Tips

5/19/14 Monday in Jefferson, OH (Kenisee Lake-TT)

Our last day at Kenisee. A beautiful day too.

Kenisee 4 Kenisee 5

So lovely that John was inspired to repair our light. He’d thought it was a clearance light near the bottom, but it turned out to be the right turn light. It’s all good now, but he found the brake light lens/holder needs to be replaced. After that we spent our morning watching TV as I worked on the blog. For our afternoon we took a trip to “Sand RV” to pick up more lights for the signals, but our 1.5 hour trip was for naught-they were closed. I spent the rest of our glorious sunshine day reading outside. John watched a taped show of his. When I put my chair away in the basement, I tweaked my back. Dang. Too much sitting these days, I guess. Our night was devoted to “Dancing With The Stars”. Below is my last set of tips for awhile. Giving everyone a break, myself included.

Bathroom Tips:

Toilet: Plastic surfaces need special gentile cleaners. Don’t use a toilet brush on these, use a soft swab. Bleach ruins seals and your holding tank bacteria. Baking soda scratches and a lot of it is not good for your holding tank. Pine oil (Pine Sol) swells seals.

Speaking of seals if yours has gathered calcium/lime over time then they may let the water that should be sitting in your toilet drain away. If you’re not squeamish you can clean your seals. Get thin plastic gloves, a thin disposable emery board (sandpaper) and Vaseline. Turn your toilet water valve to off. Feel under your toilet hole, figuring out where the seal and calcium is. Use the emery board to sand off that calcium (on seal and toilet), rinse then rub Vaseline (lubricant) all over the seal. If you have stains on the valve that closes your hole, keeping the water there, put vinegar there, letting it sit, then use a toothbrush to scrub the stains.

Keep your holding tank fresh. Primarily use LOTS of water (remember your home toilet puts about 2 quarts down with each flush) every time. Be very careful what you put into that gray tank. Some people don’t put any toilet paper down it (urine is sterile and doesn’t smell). Some don’t put any poo down, using the campground’s bathrooms for that. Now you really have lots of water and not much else. If you want to put toilet paper down you don’t have to use the expensive RV stuff. Just apply this test: put 1 square of your favorite tp in a jar (with cover) of water. Shake 7 times. If it dissolved completely then it’s okay. Or if you let it sit for 5 minutes and it’s dissolved then it’s okay.

Keeping holding tanks fresh: Tang is mostly sugar, sticky and orange, not real effective. Vinegar is okay down your gray or black tank. Enzymes take 4 days to begin working, 2 weeks to be completely effective. They don’t work if it’s over 100 degrees. Septic tank cleaners don’t work so well because your tank is much smaller.

Your black and gray tanks should be ¾ full when you empty them, using the force of the water (as in your sink water) to help clean out where it passes. Some travel day (100 mile) suggestions: add ice cubes and or add 1/3 cup Dawn detergent (or 2 cups of Twenty Mule Team Borax laundry soap which also works) (into ¾ full tank (only once in a while). This may clean your interior sensors. Of course you don’t want to do this every travel day.

Showers: Clean hard water spots on glass shower doors by boiling undiluted distilled white vinegar. Wear rubber gloves and wipe it on the doors. Keep the doors damp for 30-45 minutes then scrub using a non-scratch pad and a bit of baking soda.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Ohio and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

