Moving on – to Lockport, NY

5/22/14 Thursday in Lockport, NY (Niagara Lazy Lakes-ROD)

Time to get ourselves to the Niagara Falls area! We woke up at 5 am to lots of rain which, thankfully, stopped by 6:30 am when we got up. What a glorious sight greeted us!

A 1 A 2 A 3 A 4

A 5 A 6 A 7 A 8Dave’s daughter had her trailer parked just behind and above him so last night Dave managed to get permission to drive it into our lake view site as soon as we left. Thus they heard us pull out and he was driving the trailer into our spot as we finished getting our tanks dumped and the car hooked up. We said hearty good bys with promises to meet at Roaring Run in Pennsylvania in September.

New York has a state speed limit of 55, even on the Interstate. Some of the less populated areas do have 65MPH. Of course they’ve also turned I-90 into a toll road, which we avoided except through the city of Buffalo, where they don’t charge you. The predicted weather was rain showers/isolated thunderstorms but luckily we mostly had clouds on our trip to Niagara Lazy Lakes near the Falls and Buffalo city. The first part of our trip was the worst. SR 219 was very rough with really bad/deep potholes periodically (bad winter) for the first 12 miles. Then we reached a new stretch of 4 lane road, then the rest of the way was decent at least.

Now we didn’t exactly have any adventures on this 70 mile trip but we did have a disappointment: the Honda couldn’t start when we arrived. Shoot it was only 1.5 hours of time being towed behind the rig. We’ll have to check into that issue. Plus John couldn’t find anything amiss re our rear camera so we’ll have to get help with that. As they say, there’s always something.

We were happily surprised with Lazy Lakes – there were still plenty of sites this close to a holiday. You can choose what site you want. We have a pull through (just vacated last night by a ROD member) with good 30 amp (50 amp costs $4/night so we chose not to have that) and water. No sewer at most sights. Plus their honey wagon comes on Mondays and Fridays – $7 each time you ask for it. Never saw such a good deal. Great satellite and even great (free) WiFi from our RV! That’s rare for us to get. Best of all: pretty level site so we have all our slides out!!! Lovely grounds – great pea gravel roads, trees, lake, beautiful restrooms (with piped in music no less). Cafe serving dinners Sat, Sun, Mon and breakfasts. Lifeguard at the saltwater pool (they have 2 but one is having issues now). They use salt water because it’s better for your skin than chlorine. The water’s kept at around 80 degrees. Great staff-so sweet and helpful. Sites are spacious in some areas, more narrow where we are. SO close to Niagara Falls. We would say that Alleghany Mountain rates higher on the aesthetic quality element.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in New York and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

